The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Pulling the pile? (https://forum.officiating.com/football/82951-pulling-pile.html)

pat727 Tue Nov 08, 2011 11:00pm

Pulling the pile?
 
My 11-12 youth team was called for illegally "pulling the pile" on a wedge play and the penalty was for 15 yards. I have never ever heard of this being called and have searched through my rule books to no avail. I have heard of the illegally assisting the runner penalty for 5 yards. But 15 yard penalty? Instead of 3rd and goal from the 1/2 yard line it became 3rd and goal from the 15 and 1/2. We didn't score and lost 6-0.

HLin NC Tue Nov 08, 2011 11:50pm

There is no such foul in NFHS. Many coaches want "pushing the pile" called but unless the aiding player contacts the runner directly, its not going to be called.

SECTION 1 HELPING THE RUNNER
An offensive player shall not push, pull or lift the runner to assist his forward
progress.
PENALTY: Helping the runner (S44) – 5 yards.

That being said, we have no way of knowing what rule set your league uses, what modifications are being used, what you might have "misheard", what the official might have "misspoke".

Did you request a coach-referee conference to discuss the possible misapplication of a rule?

JugglingReferee Wed Nov 09, 2011 06:29am

Canadian Ruling
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by pat727 (Post 797633)
My 11-12 youth team was called for illegally "pulling the pile" on a wedge play and the penalty was for 15 yards. I have never ever heard of this being called and have searched through my rule books to no avail. I have heard of the illegally assisting the runner penalty for 5 yards. But 15 yard penalty? Instead of 3rd and goal from the 1/2 yard line it became 3rd and goal from the 15 and 1/2. We didn't score and lost 6-0.

CANADIAN RULING:

Legal.

MD Longhorn Wed Nov 09, 2011 08:58am

Only thing I could see legitimately called here might be holding ... if the pulling was done on an opponent.

pat727 Wed Nov 09, 2011 11:11am

[QUOTE=HLin NC;797636]There is no such foul in NFHS. Many coaches want "pushing the pile" called but unless the aiding player contacts the runner directly, its not going to be called.

SECTION 1 HELPING THE RUNNER
An offensive player shall not push, pull or lift the runner to assist his forward
progress.
PENALTY: Helping the runner (S44) – 5 yards.

That being said, we have no way of knowing what rule set your league uses, what modifications are being used, what you might have "misheard", what the official might have "misspoke".

Did you request a coach-referee conference to discuss the possible misapplication of a rule?

I completely agree with what you say regarding that the ref might have misspoke.. I know that he definitely told me it was illegal to pull on the pile...
Also this situation occurred at the expiration of the 1st quarter so I wasn't aware there was a penalty until after we had our kids ran back onto the field. I saw the officials in conference but thought they were just chatting because it was between quarters.. The penalty I believe was for unsportsman like conduct " pulling on the pile." I have never heard that penalty ever called in all my years of football. It's honestly my own fault for not challenging him and taking his explanation at face value. But now I know..

Robert Goodman Wed Nov 09, 2011 04:08pm

Am I the only one here who sees this? Think what "pulling" entails, and if on offense you're pulling anything, it's got to be illegal use of hands. That hasn't been a 15 yard penalty for decades, but it's either:
  • assisting the ballcarrier by pulling him,
  • locking arms with a teammate in blocking, or
  • holding an opponent.
Can anyone else explain how any form of "pulling the pile" where a teammate in the pile has the ball could be legal other than in Rugby Union?

HLin NC Wed Nov 09, 2011 04:55pm

Quote:

Can anyone else explain how any form of "pulling the pile" where a teammate in the pile has the ball could be legal other than in Rugby Union?
Can you explain how one would even pull a "pile"? Unfortunately, we weren't there to see and hear it for ourselves. Whatever you see in this, only you know.

This case appears to either be some form of miscommunication or an official(s) that is either way too new or way too old or just simply made something up. We don't even know the level of officiating for this league is. Are they local HS officials or are they volunteers run through a Saturday clinic in August?

This coach probably needs to approach the officiating administrator for this league and try to get clarification on the play and enforcement. Something isn't adding up.

MD Longhorn Fri Nov 11, 2011 01:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robert Goodman (Post 797751)
Am I the only one here who sees this? Think what "pulling" entails, and if on offense you're pulling anything, it's got to be illegal use of hands. That hasn't been a 15 yard penalty for decades, but it's either:
  • assisting the ballcarrier by pulling him,
  • locking arms with a teammate in blocking, or
  • holding an opponent.
Can anyone else explain how any form of "pulling the pile" where a teammate in the pile has the ball could be legal other than in Rugby Union?

Sure. You left out[*]pulling the jersey of a teammate (which would be completely legal).

Robert Goodman Fri Nov 11, 2011 01:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 798160)
Sure. You left out[*]pulling the jersey of a teammate (which would be completely legal).

You mean the standard for illegal use of hands on opponents and teammates is different? Is not grasping the clothes grasping the person wearing them?

jTheUmp Fri Nov 11, 2011 02:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robert Goodman (Post 798161)
You mean the standard for illegal use of hands on opponents and teammates is different? Is not grasping the clothes grasping the person wearing them?

Yep, that's exactly what he means.

See Rule 9-2

MD Longhorn Fri Nov 11, 2011 04:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robert Goodman (Post 798161)
You mean the standard for illegal use of hands on opponents and teammates is different? Is not grasping the clothes grasping the person wearing them?

Um ... are you serious? Who's being punked here? Thank god you own no stripes.

Robert Goodman Sat Nov 12, 2011 09:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jTheUmp (Post 798167)
Yep, that's exactly what he means.

See Rule 9-2

So I'm being naive to assume that the word "grasp" as used in different portions of that rule had the same meaning as applied to teammates and opponents?

ajmc Sat Nov 12, 2011 10:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 798160)
Sure. You left out[*]pulling the jersey of a teammate (which would be completely legal).

Are you actually suggesting that pulling the jersey of a teammate, in possession of a live ball, forward would not violate 9-1-1, "An offensive player shall not push, pull or lift the runner to assist his forward progress"?

HLin NC Sat Nov 12, 2011 11:31am

I'm still trying to wrap my brain around pulling an entire pile without the aid of some netting and mechanized equipment.

Robert Goodman Sat Nov 12, 2011 04:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HLin NC (Post 798237)
I'm still trying to wrap my brain around pulling an entire pile without the aid of some netting and mechanized equipment.

Are you serious? The head bone's connected to the neck bone, etc.

MD Longhorn Mon Nov 14, 2011 10:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ajmc (Post 798234)
Are you actually suggesting that pulling the jersey of a teammate, in possession of a live ball, forward would not violate 9-1-1, "An offensive player shall not push, pull or lift the runner to assist his forward progress"?

The OP said the player was pulling THE PILE. I assumed this meant "not the runner". The rule you describe makes it illegal to pull the teammate IN POSSESSION OF A LIVE BALL... but not just some random player in the pile.

bigjohn Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:09am

Westwood Rams vs Firebirds Seniors - Chris Push the Pile - YouTube

Red #39

HLin NC Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:34am

Uh, Red #39 peels back to block BJ.

Guess again.

bigjohn Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:41am

red #39 is pulling the pile!
It is not illegal because he is on defense, but he is pulling the pile! :D

There should be a flag on this play though and most of you would not throw it. More than one A player is pushing the pile and helping the runner.

That is the spirit of the rule.

bcl1127 Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 798428)
red #39 is pulling the pile!
It is not illegal because he is on defense, but he is pulling the pile! :D

There should be a flag on this play though and most of you would not throw it. More than one A player is pushing the pile and helping the runner.

That is the spirit of the rule.

The rule is the rule as written in the rule book, you have no idea what the "spirit" of the rule is. No one was directly helping the runner, thus no flag, I would hope no official would throw a flag on this play as there is no reason for one.

Robert Goodman Mon Nov 14, 2011 12:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 798417)
The OP said the player was pulling THE PILE. I assumed this meant "not the runner". The rule you describe makes it illegal to pull the teammate IN POSSESSION OF A LIVE BALL... but not just some random player in the pile.

If you're on offense, who are you allowed to pull? Some player away from the play, OK. We had a goofy play in touch football where receivers interlaced elbows and did a 360 before separating...that would be legal. But who in cx with a pile could you legally pull on? You can't use your hands & arms to interlock in interference for the runner, and you can't pull a defender away from the runner -- or towards the runner, for that matter. Who does that leave?

Robert Goodman Mon Nov 14, 2011 12:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 798428)
red #39 is pulling the pile!
It is not illegal because he is on defense, but he is pulling the pile! :D

There should be a flag on this play though and most of you would not throw it. More than one A player is pushing the pile and helping the runner.

That is the spirit of the rule.

They've had a long time to say so in the rules, analogously to forced touching situations in relationship to the ball, but they haven't, so I assume they want to keep it legal. A defender turns his back to you in making the tackle just as you get there, or you work your way around in contact from his side to his back, then you can block him in the back, and that winds up xmitting force to the runner in this example, nothing you can do about it in the rules. I would say that if you approached from behind and the tackler already clearly had his back to you as you approached so that your initial contact was with his back, you should be flagged for that.

bigjohn Mon Nov 14, 2011 01:24pm

#2 and 32 are directly contacting the runner in the video I posted.
Like I said most officials won't call it. I watched the OHSAA state finals 2 years ago and saw it 5 times in one game where the FB came up and pushed the QB toward the goal line. No call, the next year I believe it was a POE. :rolleyes:

bcl1127 Mon Nov 14, 2011 01:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 798447)
#2 and 32 are directly contacting the runner in the video I posted.
Like I said most officials won't call it. I watched the OHSAA state finals 2 years ago and saw it 5 times in one game where the FB came up and pushed the QB toward the goal line. No call, the next year I believe it was a POE. :rolleyes:

You need you eyes checked, #2 is pushing a RED player who is between him and the runner, and #32 is not pushing at all, more like standing there watching with his hands out. shame on anyone who thinks this is helping the runner.

bigjohn Mon Nov 14, 2011 02:53pm

The big surge came from those not in direct contact but 32 and 2 both had a hand on the runner, pushing. that is all the rule says, not how hard.

Suudy Mon Nov 14, 2011 02:56pm

And the Pac-10 officials didn't have the stones to call the Bush Push:

USC Steals One At South Bend! (2005) - YouTube

Indeed, I've yet to see it called at the college level. If they won't call it when it is that clear and blatant, why would they call it on a pile?

bigjohn Mon Nov 14, 2011 02:59pm

http://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo...eat=directlink

Maybe even a pull.

MD Longhorn Mon Nov 14, 2011 03:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 798428)
red #39 is pulling the pile!
It is not illegal because he is on defense, but he is pulling the pile! :D

There should be a flag on this play though and most of you would not throw it. More than one A player is pushing the pile and helping the runner.

That is the spirit of the rule.

It is no such thing. People push "the pile" all the time. Surely you don't mean that if you can't get to the runner, you must back off and wait your turn...

The rule says you can't push THE RUNNER. (Like Reggie Bush was pushed in the ND-USC game a few years back). Pushing the pile is NOTHING. You can't get on the ballcarrier and just push him.

MD Longhorn Mon Nov 14, 2011 03:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 798465)
The big surge came from those not in direct contact but 32 and 2 both had a hand on the runner, pushing. that is all the rule says, not how hard.

I see what you see, but you might want to reread the exact words of the rule. This (your video) is not illegal either.

MD Longhorn Mon Nov 14, 2011 03:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robert Goodman (Post 798441)
If you're on offense, who are you allowed to pull? Some player away from the play, OK. We had a goofy play in touch football where receivers interlaced elbows and did a 360 before separating...that would be legal. But who in cx with a pile could you legally pull on? You can't use your hands & arms to interlock in interference for the runner, and you can't pull a defender away from the runner -- or towards the runner, for that matter. Who does that leave?

9 other players. 41% of the people on the field.

ajmc Mon Nov 14, 2011 04:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 798447)
#2 and 32 are directly contacting the runner in the video I posted.
Like I said most officials won't call it. I watched the OHSAA state finals 2 years ago and saw it 5 times in one game where the FB came up and pushed the QB toward the goal line. No call, the next year I believe it was a POE. :rolleyes:

I don't doubt that in many "pushing the pile" situations there may very well be undetected "helping the runner" occuring. However, officials do not have the luxury of "suspecting" what may be going on, that many spectators enjoy.

For a field official, applying Penalties is restricted to only those rule violations that are directly and unequivocaly observed in their entirety, or perceived to have been observed.

When observed, Helping the Runner is a foul, if not directly observed it should not be called, and you should understand this foul, when a large group of players are involved is extremely difficult to observe.

bigjohn Mon Nov 14, 2011 05:28pm

An offensive player shall not push, pull or lift the runner to assist his forward
progress.
PENALTY: Helping the runner (S44) – 5 yards.

So if you as an official feel his forward progress isn't assisted it is not a foul? BS, that is what they are trying to do.

Robert Goodman Mon Nov 14, 2011 09:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 798472)
9 other players. 41% of the people on the field.

When they're part of a pile? No way.

mbyron Tue Nov 15, 2011 08:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 798482)
An offensive player shall not push, pull or lift the runner to assist his forward
progress.
PENALTY: Helping the runner (S44) – 5 yards.

So if you as an official feel his forward progress isn't assisted it is not a foul? BS, that is what they are trying to do.

http://profile.ak.fbcdn.net/hprofile..._1329182_n.jpg

MD Longhorn Tue Nov 15, 2011 09:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 798482)
An offensive player shall not push, pull or lift the runner to assist his forward
progress.
PENALTY: Helping the runner (S44) – 5 yards.

So if you as an official feel his forward progress isn't assisted it is not a foul? BS, that is what they are trying to do.

Last try here. not sure why I bother though.

what part of "push, pull or life THE RUNNER" is unclear?

MD Longhorn Tue Nov 15, 2011 09:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robert Goodman (Post 798512)
When they're part of a pile? No way.

There are no rules whatsoever that say what you can do to a teammate that doesn't have the ball, with the exception of interlocking your arms while blocking. Pushing or pulling on your own player who does not have the ball is not illegal.

HLin NC Tue Nov 15, 2011 09:38am

You know, I've found the "ignore poster" function in the user CP is a blissful experience.

bigjohn Tue Nov 15, 2011 10:33am

#32 is pushing the runner!

http://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo...eat=directlink

Robert Goodman Tue Nov 15, 2011 11:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 798557)
There are no rules whatsoever that say what you can do to a teammate that doesn't have the ball, with the exception of interlocking your arms while blocking. Pushing or pulling on your own player who does not have the ball is not illegal.

Fed 2-3-9: "Interlocked blocking occurs when one player grasps or encircles a teammate just prior to or while blocking an opponent."

NCAA: "Teammates of the ball carrier or passer...shall not use interlocked interference by grasping or encircling one another in any manner while contacting an opponent."

How can you pull without grasping?

bcl1127 Tue Nov 15, 2011 11:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 798574)
#32 is pushing the runner!

Picasa Web Albums - john knight

sideways and not assisting the runner in moving forward, if anything it appears he pushes the runner into the defender. This is a penalty that is called, but it needs to be obvious assisting of the runner. I have called it two times, and each time it was like a train moving down the field with a runner and another player right on his back pushing.

in your world, if a player lays a pinky on the runner it is a foul...

bigjohn Tue Nov 15, 2011 12:35pm

Pretty obvious that the runner was assisted in moving forward in the video I posted, to fit the definition, I showed where #32 was pushing the runner. If the runner gains more yards than he would have without the assist of others, it should be called helping the runner. No where does it say he must be touching the runner directly to do this. If you are pushing the car I am in and I get to the gas station, you were pushing me and the car, no?

If I am tangled up in a pile or scrum or whatever, pushing the whole pile does assist in the runne's forward progress and that is how it should be called. You guys are always telling me not to be so litteral in interpreting the rules but here is a case of most officials doing just that!

PocketSidewalk Tue Nov 15, 2011 02:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HLin NC (Post 798237)
I'm still trying to wrap my brain around pulling an entire pile without the aid of some netting and mechanized equipment.

:D +1

This was exactly the kind of thing that popped into my mind when I first read the OP.

MD Longhorn Tue Nov 15, 2011 04:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robert Goodman (Post 798584)
Fed 2-3-9: "Interlocked blocking occurs when one player grasps or encircles a teammate just prior to or while blocking an opponent."

NCAA: "Teammates of the ball carrier or passer...shall not use interlocked interference by grasping or encircling one another in any manner while contacting an opponent."

How can you pull without grasping?

Now I know I'm being punked. I'm not going to define "while blocking" or "while contacting an opponent" for you, but that rule is completely inapplicable in the situation we're discussing.

MD Longhorn Tue Nov 15, 2011 04:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 798598)
No where does it say he must be touching the runner directly to do this.

Except for the words in the rule. your inference is absurd.

If I was legally blocking an opponent and he contacted his teammates back - have I now blocked in the back?

bisonlj Tue Nov 15, 2011 04:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 798598)
Pretty obvious that the runner was assisted in moving forward in the video I posted, to fit the definition, I showed where #32 was pushing the runner. If the runner gains more yards than he would have without the assist of others, it should be called helping the runner. No where does it say he must be touching the runner directly to do this. If you are pushing the car I am in and I get to the gas station, you were pushing me and the car, no?

If I am tangled up in a pile or scrum or whatever, pushing the whole pile does assist in the runne's forward progress and that is how it should be called. You guys are always telling me not to be so litteral in interpreting the rules but here is a case of most officials doing just that!

Based on your definition here if I'm already in the middle of the pile (because I'm a lineman and we all get into a scrum together) and the runner comes into the back of us and we are collectively able to help the runner gain an extra yard or two by pushing the pile, you want it flagged as assisting the runner.

Robert Goodman Tue Nov 15, 2011 08:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 798650)
Now I know I'm being punked. I'm not going to define "while blocking" or "while contacting an opponent" for you, but that rule is completely inapplicable in the situation we're discussing.

How else do you conceive the "pile" the original poster said was referenced by the official? How could players possibly be said to be part of a pile without being in contact?

bigjohn Wed Nov 16, 2011 07:00am

In Ohio it doesn't get called when it is blatantly the back running up and pushing the QB forward on a short yardage play. Most guys coach the backs to do that knowing it won't get called.
I know no one is going to call it if there is a scrum of any kind.

CT1 Wed Nov 16, 2011 09:27am

Rogers Redding's latest NCAA Bulletin addresses this issue:

In trying to gain yardage, ball carrier A44 is slowed by defensive players attempting to make the tackle. Back A22 (a) puts his hands on the buttocks of A44 and pushes him forward; (b) pushes the pile of teammates who begin to surround A44; (c) grabs the arm of A44 and tries to pull him forward for more yardage.
RULING: (a) and (c) Foul for assisting the runner. 5-yard penalty with three-and-one enforcement. (b) Legal play. It is not clear that A22 is directly assisting A44. (9-3-2-b)

bigjohn Wed Nov 16, 2011 10:09am

Well I think we have established that Redding guide means nothing for NFHS.
:rolleyes:


http://forum.officiating.com/footbal...al-snap-4.html

CT1 Wed Nov 16, 2011 10:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 798812)
Well I think we have established that Redding guide means nothing for NFHS.

Absent a specific FED case play, I'd say the philosophy given by Dr. Redding's ruling would work well for those calling NFHS games.

bigjohn Thu Nov 17, 2011 07:30am

Rolleyes means sarcasms! did you click on the link?

CT1 Thu Nov 17, 2011 08:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 798930)
Rolleyes means sarcasms! did you click on the link?

The quote I supplied is NOT from the Reddings Guide. It's from a in-season series of interpretations given by Dr. Redding for NCAA officials.

bigjohn Thu Nov 17, 2011 08:31am

Hands on buttocks can always be a foul!

Robert Goodman Thu Nov 17, 2011 11:40am

There seem to be 2 issues in the original post, and I'm not sure they're being addressed: pulling, and the pile. Pushing a pile may be legal depending on the details, and pulling another player is sometimes legal too. But I don't see why it's even hard to understand that by "pulling the pile", the official was referring to some illegal use of hands -- in either blocking an opponent, pulling the runner, or interlocked interference -- and it's also clear that for a pile to have been the object, one of those must've occurred. The mere fact that the official didn't specify which, and indeed may not have been able to see which violation it was, doesn't mean it was a bogus call (penalty notwithstanding). When you see someone reach into an opaque cookie jar, even if you can't tell which type of cookie was grabbed, do you have a problem with concluding that a cookie was the object of grasping?

bcl1127 Thu Nov 17, 2011 12:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robert Goodman (Post 798951)
There seem to be 2 issues in the original post, and I'm not sure they're being addressed: pulling, and the pile. Pushing a pile may be legal depending on the details, and pulling another player is sometimes legal too. But I don't see why it's even hard to understand that by "pulling the pile", the official was referring to some illegal use of hands -- in either blocking an opponent, pulling the runner, or interlocked interference -- and it's also clear that for a pile to have been the object, one of those must've occurred. The mere fact that the official didn't specify which, and indeed may not have been able to see which violation it was, doesn't mean it was a bogus call (penalty notwithstanding). When you see someone reach into an opaque cookie jar, even if you can't tell which type of cookie was grabbed, do you have a problem with concluding that a cookie was the object of grasping?

If this is how you officiate, by inferring something happened but not actually seeing it, you are doing a disservice to officiating. We can only call a penalty that we see with out own eyes. How about a receiver and defender running down field, they are close, but you cannot see that the defender is holding his arm down because you are blocked from the view by his body. You see the receiver does not put up both hands to catch the ball, and he's yelling about it after the play. You know something must have happened (like you know in your example that the cookie was grasped but you did not see it) do you throw a flag? If you cannot see the action that you are going to penalize, you should never throw the flag because you never have see the illegal activity.

Rich Thu Nov 17, 2011 12:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bcl1127 (Post 798955)
If this is how you officiate, by inferring something happened but not actually seeing it, you are doing a disservice to officiating. We can only call a penalty that we see with out own eyes. How about a receiver and defender running down field, they are close, but you cannot see that the defender is holding his arm down because you are blocked from the view by his body. You see the receiver does not put up both hands to catch the ball, and he's yelling about it after the play. You know something must have happened (like you know in your example that the cookie was grasped but you did not see it) do you throw a flag? If you cannot see the action that you are going to penalize, you should never throw the flag because you never have see the illegal activity.

I'll solve the riddle for you -- he doesn't officiate at all.

This whole conversation has been entertaining in a "how many angles can dance on the head of a pin" kind of way.

Robert Goodman Fri Nov 18, 2011 11:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bcl1127 (Post 798955)
If this is how you officiate, by inferring something happened but not actually seeing it, you are doing a disservice to officiating.

None of us actually saw it! Someone came here and asked about a penalty given in a game for "pulling the pile", and asked how that could be. What else can any of post on but inferences? The official apparently didn't specify which type of illegal use of hands it was, but I think we can all infer it was some type. Does it really matter, when all possibilities are covered?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:09pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1