The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 06, 2011, 01:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 508
Double Down or Split Em?

A-20 scores a touchdown. After the play A-13 commits an unsporstmanlike act which draws a flag. Thereafter (but before the ready for play) A's coach draws another USC. We have been taught that you can not split the enforcement, 1 on try and the other on kickoff. However, I can not find the prohibition in either sets of rules (NFHS or NCAA). Can you?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 06, 2011, 01:43pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,123
I do not have my rulebooks right in front of me, so unless you can give me a reference, why can you not put one on the try and the other on the kickoff? Aren't these separate penalties at different times? I am almost positive but I think you can apply one of the penalties on the try and the other on the kickoff. I could be wrong, but I want to look this up as well.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 06, 2011, 02:18pm
CT1 CT1 is offline
Official & ***** Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,049
This has come up before, & I believe the concensus was that they can be "split".

After the 1st USC, B has a choice to enforce on the try or kickoff. Once they make that choice, they're stuck with it. Now there's another USC against A. B again has their choice of try or kickoff for enforcement.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 06, 2011, 06:12pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,123
The best situation I could find was 8.2.2 Situation E (Casebook):

The play basically has a foul by B on a TD and on the two point try there is another foul by B on a successful try. The first foul was accepted and applied to the kickoff and the two point try's only option is to apply to the kickoff and according to this ruling both can be applied. Now these are not USC fouls and like this OP play, both the fouls did not occur during the same down.

I will do more looking, but that was the premise in which I answered the OP. I do not see why both cannot be applied to the kickoff as this is not a multiple foul situation.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 06, 2011, 09:21pm
Chain of Fools
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,647
You can split.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 06, 2011, 09:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Quote:
Originally Posted by HLin NC View Post
You can split.
Agreed. There's nothing that prohibits it.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Offensive Player Tries to Split Defenders Spence Basketball 14 Thu Oct 30, 2008 09:29pm
Should this Forum "split" and have new business PeteBooth Baseball 14 Fri Jul 27, 2007 07:42am
Can you split a group? Ref Ump Welsch Feedback 1 Mon Jan 19, 2004 11:12am
clock stopped for a split sec devdog69 Basketball 4 Fri Jan 18, 2002 01:19am
Can a split end (on the LOS) run a reverse? filknz Football 5 Sat Jul 07, 2001 01:49pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:55am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1