The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Old HS Timing Rules (https://forum.officiating.com/football/81562-old-hs-timing-rules.html)

McMac Fri Sep 30, 2011 08:38pm

Old HS Timing Rules

This may be a stupid question for some of you, but this is my first year doing HS football. I also work with a Pop Warner league, but they use the "old" timing rules, but I do not know what that exactly means in terms of when the clock starts and stops. Can any of you help me out with this?

Thanks in advance.

HLin NC Fri Sep 30, 2011 11:13pm

The "old" timing rules were that if you had a change of possession not involving a kick, i.e. 4th down punt with recovery by R, the clock started on the ready for play, not the snap.

Rich Sat Oct 01, 2011 12:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by HLin NC (Post 790950)
The "old" timing rules were that if you had a change of possession not involving a kick, i.e. 4th down punt with recovery by R, the clock started on the ready for play, not the snap.

If the play ended inbounds.

BktBallRef Sat Oct 01, 2011 01:05am

Our JV and middle school timing rules:

On a change of possession, the clock starts on the ready unless the previous play ended OOB or with an incomplete pass.

Robert Goodman Sat Oct 01, 2011 05:12pm

How old?

BktBallRef Sat Oct 01, 2011 08:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robert Goodman (Post 791032)
How old?

Probably mid-90's before they made that stupid rule change the prolongs games unnecessarily. :mad:

McMac Sat Oct 01, 2011 09:37pm

With this Pop Warner league, (except Tiny Mites), they run 4- 10 minute quarters and schedule games every 90 minutes. So the clock needs to run more than with the current rule set for Fed.

McMac Sat Oct 01, 2011 09:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 791058)
Probably mid-90's before they made that stupid rule change the prolongs games unnecessarily. :mad: