![]() |
Dallas v. Washington
Anyone have opinions on the USC called on Dallas late in the 4th quarter last night, where a still standing Redskin receiver who had caught the ball was hit in the shoulder by the defender (and with the defender's shoulder). I know they are to be very careful with head contact and defenseless receivers, and I thought I even heard WH say the word defenseless receiver...
Is there any case where a receiver who has CAUGHT THE BALL and is not yet tackled might be considered a defenseless receiver? Any other reason anyone can think of that this was flagged (by TWO officials, no less)? I replayed it a few times and cannot see what they thought they saw. Heck, it was not even that good of a hit, and he had a better chance of hurting his TEAMMATE than the receiver. |
Got the video, Mike?
|
Quote:
|
|
Quote:
|
I didn't think it warranted an USC penalty. The defender hit the receiver in the chest with his shoulder. I don't know exactly what the NFL is looking for on these types of plays, it just seems it's getting a little out of hand when you can't hit someone with your shoulder and there is zero helmet-to-helmet contact.
|
Did Landry lead with his helmet and make contact with his helmet first? I think so. I don't like the walk over the top of him after getting up either but that seems common place in the NFL these days. High school and college I would call it in a second, wouldn't hesitate.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Looks like IHC to me, too!
LOL!! |
Quote:
.02 |
Quote:
Those of you who think this play is IHC seem not to know what "initiating contact with the helmet" means or how this foul is to be called. The tackler led with his shoulder, and even if the helmet arrives a microsecond earlier it's not a foul. To be a foul, the IHC must be obvious, not borderline. To be obvious, it must involve no or minimal contact with the shoulder. |
Quote:
NFL Rules Book (2011) Rule 12, Section 2, Article 9 (b) Prohibited contact against a player who is in a defenseless posture is: (1) Forcibly hitting the defenseless player’s head or neck area with the helmet, facemask, forearm, or shoulder, regardless of whether the defensive player also uses his arms to tackle the defenseless player by encircling or grasping him; and (2) Lowering the head and making forcible contact with the top/crown or forehead/”hairline” parts of the helmet against any part of the defenseless player’s body. Note: The provisions of (2) do not prohibit incidental contact by the mask or helmet in the course of a conventional tackle on an opponent |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:22am. |