The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 15, 2011, 05:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 2
2011 NFHS Case Book Clarification

The NFHS clarified case-book play 7.5.13 and clearly state that this can be OPI. It doesn't make sense that if the Right Guard goes down field and touches the arm of a potential receiver then it is OPI but if he catches the ball in front of a potential receiver is is only an illegal touch.

Google 2011 NFHS Football Case Book Clarifications.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 15, 2011, 05:37pm
CT1 CT1 is offline
Official & ***** Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,049
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old Guy View Post
The NFHS clarified case-book play 7.5.13 and clearly state that this can be OPI. It doesn't make sense that if the Right Guard goes down field and touches the arm of a potential receiver then it is OPI but if he catches the ball in front of a potential receiver is is only an illegal touch.

Google 2011 NFHS Football Case Book Clarifications.
It makes sense because the coaches convinced the rulesmakers that 15 yards + LOD was too severe a penalty for this action. They were willing to give up the rare occurrence when an ineligible knocks the ball away from a potential interceptor.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 15, 2011, 06:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old Guy View Post
The NFHS clarified case-book play 7.5.13 and clearly state that this can be OPI. It doesn't make sense that if the Right Guard goes down field and touches the arm of a potential receiver then it is OPI but if he catches the ball in front of a potential receiver is is only an illegal touch.

Google 2011 NFHS Football Case Book Clarifications.
Google whatever you want, but this case contradicts the plain language of the rule. OPI was not in the 2009 or 2010 versions of the case, which had the rule correct. I expect this part of the case to disappear as quietly in 2012 as it appeared in 2011.

If you call OPI in a game for this, good luck to ya.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 15, 2011, 10:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old Guy View Post
The NFHS clarified case-book play 7.5.13 and clearly state that this can be OPI. It doesn't make sense that if the Right Guard goes down field and touches the arm of a potential receiver then it is OPI but if he catches the ball in front of a potential receiver is is only an illegal touch.

Google 2011 NFHS Football Case Book Clarifications.
The Rule Book is the law.

The Case Book is a supplement to the Rule Book.

It's illegal touching, not OPI.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 17, 2011, 09:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: N.D.
Posts: 1,829
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
The Rule Book is the law.

The Case Book is a supplement to the Rule Book.

It's illegal touching, not OPI.

Amen.

The rule was changed several years ago. The casebook is flat wrong!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 18, 2011, 12:52pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
I see the NFHS has decided to add a case for football that is as patently absurd as the infamous backcourt play in basketball.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 15, 2011, 11:03pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,797
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old Guy View Post
The NFHS clarified case-book play 7.5.13 and clearly state that this can be OPI. It doesn't make sense that if the Right Guard goes down field and touches the arm of a potential receiver then it is OPI but if he catches the ball in front of a potential receiver is is only an illegal touch.

Google 2011 NFHS Football Case Book Clarifications.
What BktBallRef said.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 16, 2011, 12:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 321
Odd - I just sent this question in to our state - which forwarded it to the NFHS. I will post the reply when I get it.

The rule book and case book are in conflict. I say it should be illegal touching, like the book says (and as the chart of passing situations says). Case book still calls it OPI - even the updated Clarifications on Case Book Plays calls it OPI.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 16, 2011, 01:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 321
I just got the NFHS reply to me question on the OPI/Illegal touching quandry. The Federation is standing by the case book play. Frankly, I'm going with the rule book.

First, the Federation response:
The NFHS Football Clarification that was sent out to the Committee on August 25, 2011 is correct. The Editorial Committee is going to review the rules language for Rule 7-5-13 for 2012.

Here is the case book play. This is from the NFHS Clarifications of Case Book Plays, which is slightly different than the case book - but those parts specific to our question are not changed:
Page 59, *7.5.13 SITUATION A: Ineligible receiver A2 is behind, in or beyond his neutral zone when a forward pass by A1: (a) accidentally strikes him in the back; or (b) is muffed by him; or (c) is caught by him. RULING: In (a), there is no illegal touching, however, if beyond the line of scrimmage, it would be offensive pass interference if the game officials judge that the offensive player interfered with B’s chance to move toward, catch or bat the pass. In (b) and (c), it is illegal touching and if beyond the line of scrimmage, would also be offensive pass interference. The acts in both (b) and (c) are intentional and not accidental as in (a) as it relates to illegal touching. Although ineligible downfield could also be called, the offended team will likely choose the most severe penalty to be applied.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 16, 2011, 01:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Sometimes you wonder if these yahoos even read the rules they publish. Good grief, that's a Freaking Mess.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 16, 2011, 01:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
Sometimes you wonder if these yahoos even read the rules they publish. Good grief, that's a Freaking Mess.
The case is new (revised, actually) this year. I guess they plan to "fix" the rule to match it for next year. Ew.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
last to touch - first to touch rsl Basketball 29 Fri Jul 03, 2009 07:01am
1st to touch Ch1town Basketball 9 Tue May 26, 2009 07:36pm
Ref60 : 60s of Officiating : Last to Touch ... First to Touch JugglingReferee Basketball 8 Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:13pm
First to touch ripcord51 Basketball 6 Sat Dec 16, 2006 06:25pm
Can't be the first one to touch it? dub3 Basketball 18 Wed Apr 21, 2004 10:14am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1