The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 31, 2003, 11:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 1,130
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Bob M.
[B]
Quote:
Originally posted by Ed Hickland
Quote:
Originally posted by mikesears


Just wanted to add whether the ball crosses the neutral zone or not does not change this play.

That is, K1 kicks the ball and it crosses the neutral zone but is blown back by a gust of wind. Crossing the neutral zone has not material affect on this play as NFHS rules regarding touching discount whether the ball crossed the zone or not.
REPLY: Not quite sure I understand what you're saying, Ed. If the kick in the play above touches K or R beyond the neutral zone, it certainly will have an effect on the ruling. If it touches R, the next down will be first for whoever is in possession; if it touches K beyond the neutral zone, it will be first touching and possibly KCI. However, if your post is talking about a kick which goes beyond the NZ but returns behind and then touches K or R, I agree with you.
Exactly my point. If the kick passes over the neutral zone but is blown back behind the NZ without being touched past the zone, the affect of crossing the zone in the air has no effect on the play because NFHS and NCAA rules are based upon where the ball is touched.
__________________
Ed Hickland, MBA, CCP
[email protected]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:19am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1