The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 20, 2003, 04:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally posted by mikesears
What happens if A commits a dead ball foul after we request that the chains move and before we declare the ball ready for play? YIKES! Where was the old line-to-gain??

Who cares where the old line-to-gain was. Now this is when the common sense has to kick into gear and make a ruling. A first down has been declared and the signal given. The chains are now moving but A commits a foul before the chains are reset with the new line to gain. My ruling in this situation would be to penalize A from the new line-to-gain. Eventhough the RFP signal has not been given, the new series of downs has already been awarded.

Oops, see NFHS rule 5-3-1. You see I am learning!

___________________________
But I'm only a youth official so what do I know.
Derock


[Edited by Derock1986 on Jan 20th, 2003 at 04:56 PM]
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1