The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 30, 2002, 07:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally posted by mikesears
Quote:
Originally posted by Derock1986
Need input from other officials--legal or illegal: Center is the last player at the end of the line of scrimmage and has been declared an eligible receiver. Center snaps the ball and then goes out for a pass. Is this legal?
Under NFHS rules, this is legal. As long as the team has 5 OTHER players number 50-79 on the line AND as long as the snapper has an eligible number.
In youth football, numbers has no bearing on positions. In my judgement, the center cannot be both a snapper and pass receiver. The center is a unique lineman position because his status NEVER changes--he is the snapper. Tackle, Guard positions--yes but center? Not while I'm wearing the white hat. Something else to consider, if the center is eligible this also means the defender cannot make any contact with the center because he is an eligible receiver. True or not true?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:39am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1