The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 11, 2002, 04:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 1,130
Quote:
Originally posted by Rick Vietti

Team A has the ball on their 30 yard line. A1 sweeps right and is stripped by B1 (defensive back).

B1 heads for his goal line running by the sideline. Team A player hits B1 at about the 2 yard line. The ball pops out of B1's hand and goes through the back of the end zone without anyone in possesion of the ball.

The white hat signaled a touch back and put the ball on the 20 yard line. (Here is the question part of the play) He gave the ball back to Team A on the 20 yard line.

Now I can understand the touchback and placing the ball on the 20 but shouldn't Team B have gotten the ball?

************************************************** *****
Very basic, who has possession of the ball?

At the time of the fumble the ball is in player and team possession of B. It remains in team possession of B as it crosses the endline of B's end zone. Therefore, it is a touchback.

If the ball had not been possessed by B and had bounded into the end zone and over the endline it would have been a safety.
__________________
Ed Hickland, MBA, CCP
[email protected]
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:48pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1