The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Wed Dec 15, 2010, 03:18pm
Official Forum Member

The Trip

Curious about something after watching the appalling trip in the Jets game . . .

The dolphin is running out of bounds on his way up the field -- is that legal? I thought (and I know I'm not a rules expert) that players always had to stay on the field, not run along the sidelines outside the boundary. What is the rule?

(And no, I'm not in any way suggesting that it makes the trip any less reprehensible . . . at least the Jets are taking it seriously and taking action against the behavior . . . )
Old Wed Dec 15, 2010, 03:29pm
Official Forum Member

The player needs to return at first chance if he was forced out by an opponet.
Old Wed Dec 15, 2010, 03:56pm
Official Forum Member

The Tasker rule - he has to try to return immediately - this is generally ruled on a bit liberally as it's easy to lose your balance when you're trying to sprint by these guys and get bumped. But he can't be Steve Tasker.

West Houston Mike
Old Wed Dec 15, 2010, 04:08pm
Official Forum Member

Rule 12, Section, Article 1

There shall be no unsportsmanlike conduct. This applies to any act which is contrary to the generally understood principles of sportsmanship. Such acts specifically include, among others:

(u) A member of the kicking team who goes out of bounds, whether forced out or voluntarily, and does not attempt to return inbounds in a reasonable amount of time.
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Old Wed Dec 15, 2010, 09:15pm
Official Forum Member

And the plot thickens...............

http://sports.espn.go.com/new-york/...e=ESPNHeadlines