![]() |
|
|||
|
Quote:
In my opinion, this is a false start and I believe the rulebook, casebook, and handbook all back me up on this. Any action that simulates the snap is a dead-ball false start. Did the WR's action simulate action at the snap? If yes, then it is a dead-ball. Just because a back can legally go in motion does not give a back the right to simulate the snap through such motion. Also, just because a team may legally shift, any shift that simulates action at the snap is a false start. A lot of this is covered in the Nat Fed rulebook and handbook. This may be a bad idea, but I look to what the NFL officials do when rules are common (like a false start). I've seen NFL officials penalize backs on a number of occasions for false starts and they kill the play. I've yet to see any of them flag this as a motion penalty. Now, some assocations/assignors out there say, "A back cannot false start". If so, do what your association/assignor tells you. Bottom line, I'm always going to treat this as a false start unless I am instructed by my assocation or assignor to do it differently.
__________________
Mike Sears |
| Bookmarks |
|
|