The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 05, 2002, 03:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 489
Question

"Kick strikes Official"

In the case play, K is attempting a field goal. The kick, untouched by K or R, strikes the umpire who is standing in the end zone, and caroms off him over the cross bar and through the uprights. The answer given is that the kick is no good, and a touchback results.

I disagree. The kick should be scored a field goal. If you read rules 4-2-2d, 4-2-2e3, 6-3-1b, and 8-5-3a2, it does not say the ball becomes dead when it strikes an official inbounds. Inbounds includes the field of play and the end zone.

Can anybody help me out? Am I missing a rule or a case play here?
__________________
Mike Simonds
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:37pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1