![]() |
Illegal shift?
The quarterback (A1) says ready, set... then backs A2 & A3 move simultaneously to reset in different positions in backfield for 1 second... then ball is snapped. Would there be a penalty for Illegal Shift? Can players in backfield move to reset after other players have been in a set position?
|
[QUOTE=johnny1784;694025]The quarterback (A1) says ready, set... then backs A2 & A3 move simultaneously to reset in different positions in backfield for 1 second... then ball is snapped. Would there be a penalty for Illegal Shift? Can players in backfield move to reset after other players have been in a set position?[/
Yes they can...this is legal. |
Quote:
Instead, think from the snap: at the snap, you have 2 legal possibilities. 1. All 11 A players are set and have been set for at least 1 second at the snap. 2. All 11 A players have been set for at least 1 second, then 1 A player goes in motion legally, and then the ball is snapped. As long as A does one of those 2, they can shift and reshift to their hearts' content until they've used up the play clock. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Ok, please give me some game situations close to mine that would result in a penalty - illegal shift. Thanks. |
You could call it a false start. It's judgement here. Just because a player or players move from one legal position to another does not necessarily deem that it's legal. Consider the TE who moves to early and attempts to cover it by going in motion...this is a false start.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
At one time the NFL (but no other governing body I'm aware of) had an actual limitation on shifting, and for them calling that violation an illegal shift was quite apt. And for those codes that did not make all encroachment kill the play immediately, shifting (i.e. moving deliberately) thru the neutral zone is illegal by either team, but it's flagged as encroachment IIRC and does kill the play. |
You might be over-thinking this. Don't think about how many people are shifting - it is a shift going from the huddle to the LOS, so that's 11 people all shifting at the same time and is perfectly legal. It is a shift when linemen go from 2 point stance to 3 point stance - so that's 5 or 6 people shifting at the same time.
Are all 11 players set for one second before the snap? If so, legal. If there is a one motion man at the time of the snap - were all 11 players set for one second before that player went into motion? If so, legal. Backs A1 and A2 are set up wide to the right. They go into motion together and reset behind the QB. They are set for 1 second, then the ball is snapped. Legal. Backs A1 and A2 are set up wide to the right. They go into motion together and reset behind the QB. They are set for 1 second, then A1 goes into motion and the ball is snapped. Legal. Backs A1 and A2 are set up wide to the right. They go into motion together and A1 stops behind the QB but A2 remains in motion. The ball is snapped. That is a foul. Let's not argue whether it's illegal motion or illegal shift - it is one or the other! :) |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:50pm. |