Punt return boondoggle
Friday night high school game in Kansas. Team A punting. Punt hits A cover man on shoulder pad at 20 yard line. Team B catches ball in the air at the 24, returning it to the 35 where he fumbles the ball which is recovered by team A at the 37. Official signals first down Team A at the 37. Then Team B coach confers with the officials and ball is placed at 24, first down B. No electronic communication at this location for an explanation of what the ruling was by the official.. We thought it was downed by touching when it hit Team A cover man. Can someone here enlighten me?
__________________
And that's the ball game
|