The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Punt return boondoggle (https://forum.officiating.com/football/59163-punt-return-boondoggle.html)

radiomouth Sun Sep 26, 2010 05:45pm

Punt return boondoggle
 
Friday night high school game in Kansas. Team A punting. Punt hits A cover man on shoulder pad at 20 yard line. Team B catches ball in the air at the 24, returning it to the 35 where he fumbles the ball which is recovered by team A at the 37. Official signals first down Team A at the 37. Then Team B coach confers with the officials and ball is placed at 24, first down B. No electronic communication at this location for an explanation of what the ruling was by the official.. We thought it was downed by touching when it hit Team A cover man. Can someone here enlighten me?

BktBallRef Sun Sep 26, 2010 07:10pm

If the Team A "cover man" is beyond the expanded neutral zone when the ball hits him, that is the spot of first touching. Team B can take the ball at that spot, even though they fumbled it later.

GoodwillRef Mon Sep 27, 2010 05:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 693878)
If the Team A "cover man" is beyond the expanded neutral zone when the ball hits him, that is the spot of first touching. Team B can take the ball at that spot, even though they fumbled it later.

Even if the Ref would have had a microphone everyone still wouldn't have had a clue about "first touching!"

JRutledge Mon Sep 27, 2010 05:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 693878)
If the Team A "cover man" is beyond the expanded neutral zone when the ball hits him, that is the spot of first touching. Team B can take the ball at that spot, even though they fumbled it later.

Only if that spot is the only spot touched. Remember we have to bean bag every other spot no matter how insignificant they are to the reality of where we are going to put the ball. :p

Peace

sportsref Mon Sep 27, 2010 10:42am

Punt Return boondoggle
 
The bottom line is they(crew) got it correct. Good Job! With or without mic, fans would have no clue....maybe even some other coaches would be clueless!!!.

MD Longhorn Mon Sep 27, 2010 12:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by sportsref (Post 693938)
The bottom line is they(crew) got it correct. Good Job! With or without mic, fans would have no clue....maybe even some other coaches would be clueless!!!.

Again ... I don't do FED, but isn't the correct spot for the ball the 20 and not the 24?

golfnref Mon Sep 27, 2010 02:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 693958)
Again ... I don't do FED, but isn't the correct spot for the ball the 20 and not the 24?

Good catch MB. K first touched at the 20. (Note for JR: This was the only spot of first touching in the OP). R gets the ball at the 20.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:07am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1