The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   2 play situations (https://forum.officiating.com/football/59122-2-play-situations.html)

yankeesfan Mon Sep 20, 2010 07:52pm

2 play situations
 
1st play: 4th down and 10 from team A's own 20, snap goes over the punters head into the endzone where R kicks it out of the endzone. what are the options?

2nd play: 1st and 10 with 15 seconds left quarterback A1 from under center takes a snap and in an attempt to spike it, hits the center in the back of the leg and the ball goes to the ground. what is the call?

BktBallRef Mon Sep 20, 2010 08:15pm

1st Play:
If R unintentionally kicked as he tried to pick it up, it would be a safety.

If R intentionally kicks it out of the end zone, which makes no sense whatsoever, it would be penalized from the previous spot.

2nd Play: Incomplete pass.

yankeesfan Mon Sep 20, 2010 08:31pm

[QUOTE=BktBallRef;693142]1st Play: No options, it's a safety.

even if R kicks it out of the endzone? it wasn't k.

Welpe Mon Sep 20, 2010 08:55pm

For the first play the result of the play is a safety. The penalty will be enforced 15 yards from the previous spot. 1st and 10 for A at the A-35.

gtwbam Mon Sep 20, 2010 09:41pm

1st Play:
Agree with Welpe.
Loose ball play, enforced from previous spot,
1st and 10 for A at A's 35.

2nd Play:
Ruling: Intentional Grounding.
Spike attempt violated the exception provision
in Rule 7-5-2. Clock will start on Ready as attempt
to conserve time was done illegally.

BktBallRef Mon Sep 20, 2010 10:38pm

[quote=yankeesfan;693143]
Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 693142)
1st Play: No options, it's a safety.

even if R kicks it out of the endzone? it wasn't k.

Thanks. Didn't catch that. Edited.

yankeesfan Tue Sep 21, 2010 07:47am

2nd Play: Incomplete pass.[/QUOTE]

i agree with the incomplete pass on the 2nd play situation. are there any other views on this?

The Roamin' Umpire Tue Sep 21, 2010 07:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by yankeesfan (Post 693137)
2nd play: 1st and 10 with 15 seconds left quarterback A1 from under center takes a snap and in an attempt to spike it, hits the center in the back of the leg and the ball goes to the ground. what is the call?

Incomplete pass. Anything else here is looking for trouble.

You may be thinking of casebook 7.5.2B here, but in that play, the ball hits the snapper's foot and rebounds into the air, where the QB catches it and spikes it again. The SECOND pass is the one that is illegal, not the first.

ppaltice Tue Sep 21, 2010 08:19am

2nd play is incomplete. The QB has to throw the ball forward to the ground. The rule book does not say that it cannot hit another player in the process of throwing it to the ground. I agree that calling anything else but incomplete is fishing for trouble.

ChickenOfNC Tue Sep 21, 2010 09:04am

Edit: I missed that it was R who kicked the ball.

JugglingReferee Tue Sep 21, 2010 09:04am

Canadian Ruling
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by yankeesfan (Post 693137)
1st play: 4th down and 10 from team A's own 20, snap goes over the punters head into the endzone where R kicks it out of the endzone. what are the options?

2nd play: 1st and 10 with 15 seconds left quarterback A1 from under center takes a snap and in an attempt to spike it, hits the center in the back of the leg and the ball goes to the ground. what is the call?

CANADIAN RULING:
  1. Offside Pass. Team A 1D/10 @ Spot of B's kick.
  2. (Assuming ball in passer's hand when the hand hit the centre.) Need to know where the ball went. The point of release and point where the ball hit the ground.

mbyron Tue Sep 21, 2010 09:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ChickenOfNC (Post 693179)
I'm sorry, but how are y'all getting previous spot enforcement on play 1? Foul by A behind the basic spot, spot of the foul enforcment. Foul by A in the end zone results in safety. Am I wrong?

The foul is by R/B, not A.

MD Longhorn Tue Sep 21, 2010 09:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 693180)
CANADIAN RULING:
  1. Offside Pass. Team A 1D/10 @ Spot of B's kick.
  2. (Assuming ball in passer's hand when the hand hit the centre.) Need to know where the ball went. The point of release and point where the ball hit the ground.

Uh, wha, huh? Team A gets the ball, 1st and 10 from their -4 (4 yards into the endzone) yard line? Wanna read again and give us the real answer?

Welpe Tue Sep 21, 2010 09:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 693187)
Uh, wha, huh? Team A gets the ball, 1st and 10 from their -4 (4 yards into the endzone) yard line? Wanna read again and give us the real answer?

It's Canadian rules so who knows, maybe that's correct. :eek:

Robert Goodman Tue Sep 21, 2010 10:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 693190)
It's Canadian rules so who knows, maybe that's correct. :eek:

Only in the game in my head, where they would use that big end zone/goal area to scrimmage from.

I'm intrigued that a dribble by the attacking team that goes out of bounds from behind a goal line is now considered an offside pass, if he got that right.

bkdow Tue Sep 21, 2010 10:49am

What am I missing?
 
In the first play, Receiving kicked it out of the end zone of Kicking....correct? Does not Kicking have two options if the kicking was intentional? Penalized from the spot of the foul against R and would still be 4th down or decline the penalty and it would be a touch back with ball awarded to Kicking on their 20, right?

Welpe Tue Sep 21, 2010 11:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bkdow (Post 693213)
Penalized from the spot of the foul against R ...

No, where do fouls by the defense get enforced from?

Quote:

decline the penalty and it would be a touch back with ball awarded to Kicking on their 20, right?
No, what was the force that put the ball into the endzone?

slack74 Tue Sep 21, 2010 01:42pm

NFHS You are correct it would be a safety foul behind the basic spot is penalised from the spot therefore its a safety

MD Longhorn Tue Sep 21, 2010 02:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by slack74 (Post 693254)
NFHS You are correct it would be a safety foul behind the basic spot is penalised from the spot therefore its a safety

Um ... what?

Welpe Tue Sep 21, 2010 03:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by slack74 (Post 693254)
NFHS You are correct it would be a safety foul behind the basic spot is penalised from the spot therefore its a safety

Objection your honor, asked and answered.

Reffing Rev. Tue Sep 21, 2010 03:24pm

In the OP the snap went into the end zone...force is a A/K's snap, meaning we will either have a safety against A/K or a touchdown for B/R (assuming they get possession)

What happens after the ball goes into the end zone cannot change the force that put it there.

R's kick assuming that the OPer meant an intentional act of kicking, then all-but-one 15 yards from previous spot or decline it for a safety.

If though instead and more likely R's kick was inadvertant to an attempt to recover for a touchdown, then when the ball goes out of the end zone it is a safety, as R's touching is nothing more than a muff on a ball K's responsible for putting in the end zone.

MD Longhorn Tue Sep 21, 2010 03:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Reffing Rev. (Post 693275)
In the OP the snap went into the end zone...force is a A/K's snap, meaning we will either have a safety against A/K or a touchdown for B/R (assuming they get possession)

Well ... you're kind of omitting one other significant possibility ... K recovers the ball and manages to either run it out or kick it out. This is not, defacto, a TD or Safety ... yet.

Quote:

R's kick assuming that the OPer meant an intentional act of kicking, then all-but-one 15 yards from previous spot or decline it for a safety.
Not really much of an option, eh? K is keeping the ball, 15 yards from the original LOS... maybe even with a first down.

Quote:

If though instead and more likely R's kick was inadvertant to an attempt to recover for a touchdown, then when the ball goes out of the end zone it is a safety, as R's touching is nothing more than a muff on a ball K's responsible for putting in the end zone.
Yup.

bkdow Wed Sep 22, 2010 11:21am

Dead Horse?
 
OK, I am growing more confused as the thread goes on. The force putting the ball into the end-zone was the snap. However, it is still a live ball, so should I not be more concerned on the force that propelled the ball out of the endzone?

In addition, it's a loose ball, so the penalty would be enforced from the spot (which is the goal line) and would be a 15 yard....oh, would someone help me here because I am twisting all out of shape!

Welpe Wed Sep 22, 2010 11:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bkdow (Post 693353)
OK, I am growing more confused as the thread goes on. The force putting the ball into the end-zone was the snap. However, it is still a live ball, so should I not be more concerned on the force that propelled the ball out of the endzone?

No. Check the definition of force in Rule 2. No new force can be imparted on the ball while it is in the endzone.

Quote:

In addition, it's a loose ball, so the penalty would be enforced from the spot (which is the goal line) and would be a 15 yard
This is basic all but one enforcement. Go through the steps of penalty enforcement and you will get your answer.

What type of play is it? (Loose ball or running)

Who committed the foul? (Offense or Defense)

What is the spot of the foul?

Where is the basic spot?

Rich Wed Sep 22, 2010 11:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bkdow (Post 693353)
OK, I am growing more confused as the thread goes on. The force putting the ball into the end-zone was the snap. However, it is still a live ball, so should I not be more concerned on the force that propelled the ball out of the endzone?

In addition, it's a loose ball, so the penalty would be enforced from the spot (which is the goal line) and would be a 15 yard....oh, would someone help me here because I am twisting all out of shape!

(1) No. Read the rule 2 definition of force.

(2) It's a loose ball play. The basic spot is the previous spot. The all-but-one doesn't apply because the penalty is on R/B.

Welpe Wed Sep 22, 2010 11:36am

Or Rich could give you the answers. :eek:

bkdow Wed Sep 22, 2010 11:38am

seems to be a common theme: No one wants to give the answer. I'm at work without access to a rule book.

Welpe Wed Sep 22, 2010 11:43am

Rich and I both answered your questions. I answered your first and Rich basically answered your second, you just need to put the pieces together.

I make it a habit of keeping my books with me so I can look things up when I have a moment (lunch, break, etc). We are trying to help you learn by going to the source instead of just spoon feeding. Teach a man to fish and all that...

Rich, I also beg to differ that all but one doesn't apply here. This is still all but one enforcement but the foul by defense is one of the fouls in the "All" category.

Rich Wed Sep 22, 2010 11:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bkdow (Post 693364)
seems to be a common theme: No one wants to give the answer. I'm at work without access to a rule book.

It can't be that crucial if you're at work. Look it up when you get home. It's easy for me to tell you the answer, but it's more important to know the key principles and definitions that lead to the answer so you can apply them yourself.

ppaltice Wed Sep 22, 2010 11:53am

Force is only in reference to the action that puts the ball from the field of play INTO the endzone. The illegal kick caused the ball to go from the endzone across the end line, so we do not use the term "force" in association with this action.

Also, do not mix up "loose ball" with "loose ball play" (see rule 10-3). The ball is loose, but more importantly, it is a loose ball play because of the incomplete backward pass (snap) from in or behind the neutral zone. The basic spot for a loose ball play is the previous spot. For most fouls on B/R, the enforcement spot is the basic spot (in this case the previous spot) (see 10-5 for exceptions).

So, the penalty on B/R occurs during a loose ball play, the enforcement spot is the previous spot. If declined, we have a ball that became dead in A's EZ with A responsible for forcing the ball into their EZ, so we have a safety (8-5-2b).

bkdow Wed Sep 22, 2010 11:55am

Thank you!!
 
Thank you very much!!

mbyron Wed Sep 22, 2010 12:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 693357)
(2) It's a loose ball play. The basic spot is the previous spot. The all-but-one doesn't apply because the penalty is on R/B.

Sorry Rich, but you've hit a peeve. ABO applies to (nearly) ALL fouls, which is the point of calling it "ALL but one."

It might not apply in the sense that fouls by R/B aren't the "one" mentioned in "all but one," but it DOES apply in the sense that fouls by R/B are among the "all."

In accordance with ABO, (nearly) all fouls by the defense are enforced from the basic spot.

Rich Wed Sep 22, 2010 12:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 693377)
Sorry Rich, but you've hit a peeve. ABO applies to (nearly) ALL fouls, which is the point of calling it "ALL but one."

It might not apply in the sense that fouls by R/B aren't the "one" mentioned in "all but one," but it DOES apply in the sense that fouls by R/B are among the "all."

In accordance with ABO, (nearly) all fouls by the defense are enforced from the basic spot.

Peeve away. I was sloppy. Not that it *really* matters.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1