The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Video of a call I finally got right!!! (https://forum.officiating.com/football/58518-video-call-i-finally-got-right.html)

JRutledge Wed Jun 30, 2010 02:07pm

Video of a call I finally got right!!!
 
This tape was from a couple of years ago, but it is nice to have play show you got it right.

This was a semi-final I worked a couple of years ago the year I worked the State Final. I was looking for the video production of this game and I saw this.

At the :43 second mark the play starts and I am the BJ that makes the call on the goal line. It appears I got it right as the video shows and the commentator says.

http://rivals.yahoo.com/video/recrui...ard-West-43844

Peace

MD Longhorn Wed Jun 30, 2010 02:19pm

How does one find the video? I see no attachment or link here.

JRutledge Wed Jun 30, 2010 02:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 683985)
How does one find the video? I see no attachment or link here.

Fixed it.

Peace

Welpe Wed Jun 30, 2010 03:44pm

Good call. What the heck was your umpire doing? ;)

JRutledge Wed Jun 30, 2010 04:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 684007)
Good call. What the heck was your umpire doing? ;)

What do you mean?

Peace

Welpe Wed Jun 30, 2010 04:04pm

He came up behind you looking lost before finally repeating your stop the clock signal...while standing right behind you. It just looked weird.

JRutledge Wed Jun 30, 2010 04:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 684020)
He came up behind you looking lost before finally repeating your stop the clock signal...while standing right behind you. It just looked weird.

Well I was right behind him on the play. The ball started on the 11 and in our mechanics the BJ starts on the goal line outside the 10 unless players dictate, because the BJ has the goal line. All I remember is that he was conferring with me about the catch and when it was clear I had him short, he mirrored like we all do.

Peace

DrMooreReferee Thu Jul 01, 2010 08:19am

At about the 3:25 mark of this video. The score is tied 20-20. And there is a kickoff return. I'm curious if there was a flag on this play for a dead-ball personal foul. It looks to me like this guy get creamed after he was clearly OOB. I didn't see any flags flying. But I suppose there could've been some. I'm just curious, thats all.

Also, on the very same play where you ruled the player short of the goal line. What does everyone think about that block by #66. Has the ball left the zone yet? If they had been in shotgun formation, I'd say for certain that this block was illegal. The block was certainly delayed. But I do think maybe the ball was still in the freeblocking zone. And I think if there is doubt about that, then you have to leave that alone. But its close! Good call on the guy being down short of the goal. No doubt about that one.

FBullock Thu Jul 01, 2010 10:37pm

I agree you got the call correct but who was looking at the left tackle on that play. (They put the box on him.) Looks like he stands up then cuts the defensive lineman. In college that's legal but blocking below the waist in HS is not allowed. Who should have been looking at that?

Welpe Thu Jul 01, 2010 11:07pm

There are certain circumstances in Federation rules where blocking below the waist is legal. One of them is on a scrimmage down, a lineman may block another below the waist if both were in the free blocking zone at the snap, the block was in the free blocking zone and the ball was in the free blocking zone.

JRutledge Fri Jul 02, 2010 04:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by DrMooreReferee (Post 684113)
At about the 3:25 mark of this video. The score is tied 20-20. And there is a kickoff return. I'm curious if there was a flag on this play for a dead-ball personal foul. It looks to me like this guy get creamed after he was clearly OOB. I didn't see any flags flying. But I suppose there could've been some. I'm just curious, thats all.

Yes there was a flag on this play for a late hit. I was the one that called it as that was my sideline for the kickoff. Until I saw this video, I was not 100% sure I got it right after the fact. There was a TV feed of this game on Comcast SportsNet Chicago Live, but the TV feed did not confirm the call as they only showed an across the field view. This angle proves I got this right too.

Quote:

Originally Posted by DrMooreReferee (Post 684113)
Also, on the very same play where you ruled the player short of the goal line. What does everyone think about that block by #66. Has the ball left the zone yet? If they had been in shotgun formation, I'd say for certain that this block was illegal. The block was certainly delayed. But I do think maybe the ball was still in the freeblocking zone. And I think if there is doubt about that, then you have to leave that alone. But its close! Good call on the guy being down short of the goal. No doubt about that one.

I noticed the same thing. But considering the kind of play with a short drop and it is hard to tell, I would have likely let that go too based on the angle.

Peace

FBullock Fri Jul 02, 2010 07:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 684252)
There are certain circumstances in Federation rules where blocking below the waist is legal. One of them is on a scrimmage down, a lineman may block another below the waist if both were in the free blocking zone at the snap, the block was in the free blocking zone and the ball was in the free blocking zone.

I agree that in certain situations, as you say it's legal to block below the waist. This play is border line, as other also stated, as to being legal. My question was, did anyone on the crew see it. It's probably a pass but definetly a talk-to with be player/coach. It's also a great play to discuss (as we are doing here) both from a rules and mechanics situation.

Looks like you guys had a great game & had it covered.

bisonlj Fri Jul 02, 2010 03:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by FBullock (Post 684248)
I agree you got the call correct but who was looking at the left tackle on that play. (They put the box on him.) Looks like he stands up then cuts the defensive lineman. In college that's legal but blocking below the waist in HS is not allowed. Who should have been looking at that?

In 5-man mechanics, the wing on that side of the field would have an initial key on that but it's very possible he left his key before the block and could have missed it. I agree with other comments that this is not a foul because the ball is still in the FBZ and both players are on the LOS at the snap. But this is close enough that I talk to him if I see it. If you watched the rest of the video you find out this guy was recruited by Notre Dame and he's currently a sophomore on their roster.

JRutledge Fri Jul 02, 2010 09:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bisonlj (Post 684359)
In 5-man mechanics, the wing on that side of the field would have an initial key on that but it's very possible he left his key before the block and could have missed it. I agree with other comments that this is not a foul because the ball is still in the FBZ and both players are on the LOS at the snap. But this is close enough that I talk to him if I see it. If you watched the rest of the video you find out this guy was recruited by Notre Dame and he's currently a sophomore on their roster.

This sounds like a mechanical difference, but not in our state's mechanics. The key for the wing would be the receiver or inside receiver based on the strength of the formation. I believe in this play the Referee had this "key" based on the formation and the QB's arm. Then again this might be different based on other mechanics. I just know the wing likely does not have this block initially, but then again after the ball is snapped, then we move on to other things.

Peace

waltjp Sun Jul 04, 2010 09:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by FBullock (Post 684263)
I agree that in certain situations, as you say it's legal to block below the waist. This play is border line, as other also stated, as to being legal. My question was, did anyone on the crew see it. It's probably a pass but definetly a talk-to with be player/coach. It's also a great play to discuss (as we are doing here) both from a rules and mechanics situation.

Looks like you guys had a great game & had it covered.

Why a talk-to on a legal block? The ball isn't close to being out of the FBZ. Legal block.

FBullock Mon Jul 05, 2010 08:52am

I believe it's very close to being an illegal block and the ball being out of the FBZ. From the angle we have on the video, we can't be 100 %. I think any opportunity we have a player that's close to fouling and we see it, we let them know that we saw the play are watching them. This guy probably watches a lot of plays on TV on Saturday & Sunday in which no matter where the ball is the "cut block" is legal. The don't know the difference. This is also a potential safty concern which is another reason to talk to the player.

This is my opinion an some won't agree with it. Do what works for you. I'm not coaching but I'm letting them know that I watching.

bisonlj Mon Jul 05, 2010 10:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 684393)
This sounds like a mechanical difference, but not in our state's mechanics. The key for the wing would be the receiver or inside receiver based on the strength of the formation. I believe in this play the Referee had this "key" based on the formation and the QB's arm. Then again this might be different based on other mechanics. I just know the wing likely does not have this block initially, but then again after the ball is snapped, then we move on to other things.

Peace

Unless the receivers you mentioned are pressed, you should key on the T at least to read pass/run. If you only watch your receiver(s) (sometimes 2 with 5-man) and they aren't pressed, you are officiating air. With 5-man mechanics, the Ts are often left unwatched and can get away with more than others. I've always been taught my wing officials much smarter than me to watch the Ts initial block as often as you can.

JRutledge Mon Jul 05, 2010 02:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bisonlj (Post 684524)
Unless the receivers you mentioned are pressed, you should key on the T at least to read pass/run. If you only watch your receiver(s) (sometimes 2 with 5-man) and they aren't pressed, you are officiating air. With 5-man mechanics, the Ts are often left unwatched and can get away with more than others. I've always been taught my wing officials much smarter than me to watch the Ts initial block as often as you can.

All I am saying is there is a mechanical difference. I feel the wing can pick this up, but as it relates to the key that is not their responsibility. I will say this again, a "key" is only a very brief look at the initial movement of a player to read the run or the pass. After you realize what the offense is doing, you go to other things. You cannot stay with "keys" very long in 5 or 4 man mechanics. Based on the play it looks legal, but the angle does not disprove or support exactly where the ball is which would be the determining factor.

Peace

mbyron Tue Jul 06, 2010 05:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by waltjp (Post 684504)
Why a talk-to on a legal block? The ball isn't close to being out of the FBZ. Legal block.

+1

That's like scolding a cornerback because he almost hit the receiver early.

FBullock Tue Jul 06, 2010 07:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 684576)
+1

That's like scolding a cornerback because he almost hit the receiver early.

It's not scolding, it's preventative officiating. If they do a good job of avoiding a late hit OB or piling on,etc., you let them know that as well. Field presents and communications with the players is what I'm talking about.

mbyron Tue Jul 06, 2010 08:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by FBullock (Post 684585)
It's not scolding, it's preventative officiating. If they do a good job of avoiding a late hit OB or piling on,etc., you let them know that as well. Field presents and communications with the players is what I'm talking about.

Every legal play avoids a late hit. I don't believe that you compliment players after every legal play.

Preventive officiating is an intervention before a foul is about to be committed, especially USC. On legal plays, no preventive officiating is required. Red herring.

FBullock Tue Jul 06, 2010 12:43pm

I didn't say I complimented them on every play.

If you work the LOS, do you talk to your tackle if he's started to easy back and getting close to being in the backfield to get him refocused and back up on the LOS? Same thing with D-lineman if they are crowding the line & getting close.

I talk to the players. If have a tackle easing back, we work with him to stay on the LOS. If he does a good job of staying up, I tell he's doing a good job of staying up and to keep up the good work. Most players & coaches appreciate this.

I see this as being the same. While we can agree that in the video play, we probably won't call the cut block a foul, it's close. I've been taught over the years & am a strong believer in communications with players and coaches. We are not out there to just throw flags but to manage the game in fair manner.

JasonTX Tue Jul 06, 2010 01:15pm

I like to communciate as well for good plays. It especially comes in handy when I have previously warned a player who came close to drawing a flag for holding. On the next play he has a good block I let him know. This is preventive officiating on a legal block because he has now learned what a good block is verses his "other" block that nearly drew a flag.

RochesterRef Sat Jul 10, 2010 02:34pm

In NYS Section V, I may be more inclined to call this a cut block. We are taught that any block below the waist must meet the following criteria: 1) The blocker and defender must be on the line at the time of the snap 2) The ball must still be in the FBZ (if this play was shotgun form, we'd say the zone disintegrates at the snap), and 3) any block below the waist must be on the initial charge, i.e. simultaneous with the snap. I have two issues with this play: 1) I may argue that the ball was out of the FBZ. While hard to tell at this angle, we must remember that the FBZ is only 4 yards to either side of the ball and 3 yards fore and aft of the ball's points. Since the QB is already a yard off the ball at the time of the snap, it stands to reason that after 2 steps back the zone disintegrates. My second issue is that the T's initial charge was backwards, not initially below the waist, which may catch my attention as a wing. Based on those two observations, I believe this to be an illegal block.

JRutledge Sat Jul 10, 2010 03:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RochesterRef (Post 684995)
In NYS Section V, I may be more inclined to call this a cut block.

What is a "cut block?" Since when did that become illegal? ;)


Quote:

Originally Posted by RochesterRef (Post 684995)
Based on those two observations, I believe this to be an illegal block.

I ask a couple of things every time I watch tape.

Was the official or officials in position? Based on the tape and what I know the answer is clearly yes based on other tape I have and memory of the game and play.

Does the tape clearly show the officials was right or wrong? I would say no. I cannot tell based on this angle anything other than a block.

We all will have to be put in situations where we have to make a judgment based on what we know. I agree that is block might be close, but if it is close I do not believe calling it.

Peace

Rich Sun Jul 11, 2010 03:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RochesterRef (Post 684995)
In NYS Section V, I may be more inclined to call this a cut block. We are taught that any block below the waist must meet the following criteria: 1) The blocker and defender must be on the line at the time of the snap 2) The ball must still be in the FBZ (if this play was shotgun form, we'd say the zone disintegrates at the snap), and 3) any block below the waist must be on the initial charge, i.e. simultaneous with the snap. I have two issues with this play: 1) I may argue that the ball was out of the FBZ. While hard to tell at this angle, we must remember that the FBZ is only 4 yards to either side of the ball and 3 yards fore and aft of the ball's points. Since the QB is already a yard off the ball at the time of the snap, it stands to reason that after 2 steps back the zone disintegrates. My second issue is that the T's initial charge was backwards, not initially below the waist, which may catch my attention as a wing. Based on those two observations, I believe this to be an illegal block.

Your #3 is a rule of thumb for a shotgun formation. It is not a foul to delay-block below the waist in a hand-to-hand snap if the ball is still in the FBZ.

BktBallRef Mon Jul 12, 2010 03:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 685020)
Your #3 is a rule of thumb for a shotgun formation. It is not a foul to delay-block below the waist in a hand-to-hand snap if the ball is still in the FBZ.


Agreed. Nothing wrong with that block.

bbcof83 Mon Jul 19, 2010 01:37pm

Great call on the short of the goal line JRut. Also, great get on the PF late hit. I'd take you as my Back Judge any day.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:06pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1