The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 23, 2002, 05:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 489
Question Rule 4-2-2-d-2.

A is attempting a field goal. Kick hits upright and rebounds into field of play. B catches ball on the fly around the 5 yard line and runs downfield about 40 yards where he is tackled. B is awarded first down at that spot.

(As a side note this was a game between the 2 top ranked teams in our league and we had our most senior officials on the field.)

I was watching the game on the sideline and asked the side judge if the correct ruling should be a touchback. He went in to the referee but they did not change the ruling.

My interpretation of this rule is this: Once it is apparent the kick will not score, it becomes a touchback immediately because it has crossed the plane of R's goal line.

Also, under rule 1-2-5a. it states that the goal posts, including the uprights, are in the same vertical plane as the inside edge of the end line. Rule 1-2-3g. states that the boundary lines (sidelines and endlines) are out of bounds. Rule 4-2-2b. states that the ball becomes dead when a live ball goes out of bounds.

Is touchback the correct ruling?

__________________
Mike Simonds
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:46am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1