The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 22, 2002, 05:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 169
I didn't write the Casebook play, so it's not my interpretation.

There are a number of ways that the referee could override any unseemly advantage, such as the one you suggest. For example, if the referee feels that there is no possible way the team could line up legally and, as you suggest, the snapper and QB commit this clearly unfair act, he may invoke either 3-6-3 or 9-9-3 and run the clock to end the game.

But with three seconds left, one required for the set and one required for the snap and spike, it is feasible to accomplish the play legally. So enforcement of the ruling in 7.5.2 SITUATION E is legitimate, as judged by the referee.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:40pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1