The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Dallas v Philadelphia (https://forum.officiating.com/football/55341-dallas-v-philadelphia.html)

TrojanHorse Mon Nov 09, 2009 12:04pm

Dallas v Philadelphia
 
Last night, there was a play I wanted a little clarification on. McNabb rolled out and it looked like he crossed the LOS before he passed the ball. With the benefit of review, we see that his torso, front foot and the ball are across the LOS, but not his back toes. The announcers said that his entire body have to be across the line. I didnt think this was right as the sport is based where the ball is. Thanks

Bullycon Mon Nov 09, 2009 12:23pm

Sometimes, it is the ball. Sometimes, it is the feet. Sometimes, it is the body.

In NFHS, it is a foul if either foot is beyond the neutral zone (i.e. the forward point of the ball when it is marked ready for play.) Thus, the play as you described it would be flagged for illegal forward pass.

In NCAA, the entire body must be beyond the neutral zone. Thus, your play is legal.

My 2006 NFL rule book states the entire body must be beyond the line of scrimmage. Once again, a legal play as you have described it. It's possible this rule has changed, but I doubt it.

mbyron Mon Nov 09, 2009 12:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bullycon (Post 635194)
My 2006 NFL rule book states the entire body must be beyond the line of scrimmage. Once again, a legal play as you have described it. It's possible this rule has changed, but I doubt it.

The announcers clearly stated this rule during the broadcast. Even a blind squirrel...

With_Two_Flakes Mon Nov 09, 2009 01:10pm

Bullycon's answer nailed it.

Nailed it for all 3 codes.

Raymond Mon Nov 09, 2009 03:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by With_Two_Flakes (Post 635215)
Bullycon's answer nailed it.

Nailed it for all 3 codes.

And as noted by the announcers, the exact same thing happened in the NYG/Philly game last year on Sunday Night Football.

Robert Goodman Mon Nov 09, 2009 04:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bullycon (Post 635194)
Sometimes, it is the ball. Sometimes, it is the feet. Sometimes, it is the body.

In NFHS, it is a foul if either foot is beyond the neutral zone (i.e. the forward point of the ball when it is marked ready for play.) Thus, the play as you described it would be flagged for illegal forward pass.

In NCAA, the entire body must be beyond the neutral zone. Thus, your play is legal.

My 2006 NFL rule book states the entire body must be beyond the line of scrimmage. Once again, a legal play as you have described it. It's possible this rule has changed, but I doubt it.

Huh? I was sure that in NCAA, the ball had to be beyond the NZ. And that satisfies the "Sometimes, it is the ball." Bullycon wrote above.

Bullycon Mon Nov 09, 2009 08:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robert Goodman (Post 635276)
Huh? I was sure that in NCAA, the ball had to be beyond the NZ. And that satisfies the "Sometimes, it is the ball." Bullycon wrote above.

7-3-2: A forward pass is illegal:
a. If thrown by a Team A player whose entire body is beyond the neutral
zone when he releases the ball [S35 and S9].

I was referring to the sport in general when I said, "Sometimes, it is the ball." Not this specific rule.

Robert Goodman Tue Nov 10, 2009 12:12am

Then maybe it was the Canadian rule, or maybe I'm out of date. At least going by foot or body position makes for one less case where you have to rule on the release point of the ball.

APG Tue Nov 10, 2009 04:32am

NFL 2009 Rule Book

Rule 8, Article 2

Item 1: Illegal Passes. Any other forward pass by either team is illegal and is a foul by the passing team, including the following:

(a) A forward pass thrown when the passer is beyond the line of scrimmage.

Note: It is a forward pass from beyond the line of scrimmage if the passer's entire body and the ball are beyond the line of scrimmage when the ball is released, whether the passer is airborne or touching the ground. The penalty for a forward pass thrown from beyond the line is enforced from the spot where the ball is released.

Robert Goodman Tue Nov 10, 2009 10:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 635404)
NFL 2009 Rule Book

Rule 8, Article 2

Item 1: Illegal Passes. Any other forward pass by either team is illegal and is a foul by the passing team, including the following:

(a) A forward pass thrown when the passer is beyond the line of scrimmage.

Note: It is a forward pass from beyond the line of scrimmage if the passer's entire body and the ball are beyond the line of scrimmage when the ball is released,


You would think the "and the ball" part would be superfluous, unless you're carrying it on a string!

Quote:

whether the passer is airborne or touching the ground. The penalty for a forward pass thrown from beyond the line is enforced from the spot where the ball is released.
So you do have to rule on the position of the ball at release, but I meant that it wasn't a critical thing where inches would likely matter, as in determining whether it was a forward pass. If you're off by a bit, it just moves the spot by that much, doesn't determine whether it was a foul.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:27am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1