The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   "Intentionally" go out of bounds (https://forum.officiating.com/football/55249-intentionally-go-out-bounds.html)

SC Ump Sun Nov 01, 2009 06:15pm

"Intentionally" go out of bounds
 
I am trying to confirm my understanding of NFHS rules 9.6.1 and 9.6.2. In summary, 9.6.1 states A or K cannot go out of bounds and return unless blocked out. Then 9.6.2 states no player shall intentionally go out of bounds and return.

Here are some scenarios. Please let me what you think.

1. A22 is running down field as a receiver, dodges a blocker, and in the process of dodging a blocker, does not touch the blocker but steps out of bounds. Ruling: He is guilty of violating 9.6.1. (Even if he returned immediately.)

2. B25 is covering a wide out and, getting "turned around" when the ball is snapped, accidentally goes out of bounds, and keeps running downfield just out of bounds, in the restricted area, stride for stride with the receiver. Ruling: Since he did not intentionally go out of bounds, he is not violating 9.6.2. He has not requirement to return at the first opportunity.

3. B25 is covering a wide out. On the snap, the wide out steps two steps back, as if to receive a "quick out pass". B25 follows. The QB instead hands off to a running that goes toward that same side of the field. B25 see this, turns to his out side, runs straddling the side line for 20 yards, and is involved in the tackle. Ruling: (???) I guess my main question is in this or a similar play, how do you judge "intentional"?

BktBallRef Sun Nov 01, 2009 06:32pm

1. He's not committed a foul until he returns.

2. Agreed.

3. I've got no call on that play. Legal.

bisonlj Sun Nov 01, 2009 08:35pm

Intentional is so obvious you won't miss it. I've never had it happen but a fellow official had a player on the kicking team intentionally run out of bounds and then down the sideline so nobody would notice him (and thus block him) so he could then come in and make the tackle. That's intentional.

Canned Heat Sun Nov 01, 2009 10:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 634096)
1. He's not committed a foul until he returns.

2. Agreed.

3. I've got no call on that play. Legal.

Well put, and agreed in full.

mbyron Mon Nov 02, 2009 07:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 634096)
1. He's not committed a foul until he returns.

It's worth adding that, since the foul occurred when he returned inbounds, the spot where he returned is the spot of the foul. It's not where he left the field nor where he later participated (if he did), even though it's an IP foul.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:53pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1