![]() |
|
|
|||
KO Mechanic, Ball Placement
On a Kick Off, if K brings out a tee does the ball need to be on the tee prior to the RFP? Can K be holding the ball prior to RFP? Or does the ball need to be in the final position (either on the ground, on a tee, or holder holding the ball) before the RFP?
|
|
|||
Quote:
Should the ball blow off the tee, or something else interrupt the sequence, the usual procedure is to stop everything, correct the problem, recheck that everyone is again ready to start, THEN gice another RFP signal and off we go. |
|
|||
To my knowledge, the rules do not address this situation.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
Many times...like every week. We have teams that huddle up before getting ready for the KO. Some times they will try to do an onside formation from the huddle and catch the receivers sleeping. We give the ball to the kicker and instruct him to wait for the WH's whistle. They put it on the tee sometimes right away and sometimes with a delay. Regardless they do their thing, and we do ours. The kicker always appears to have the ball on the tee when I blow the whistle, but not always. If the wing officials signal that they are ready the RFP will be sounded. Jim
|
|
|||
Who says they need to kick from a tee? Had a game this last Friday and the home team liked to set the ball NEXT to the tee and run up to it like they were going to kick it onside, only to stop and reset for a deep kick. As soon as I am in position I am signalling that "I" am ready. Then the kicking team has 25 seconds to kick the ball. I don't care what they do with that 25 seconds.
__________________
"Contact does not mean a foul, a foul means contact." -Me |
|
|||
Quote:
Last year, we had two delay of game penalties on a JV team in the same game. First time i've ever seen it but we're not waiting all night. If this is wrong, please provide rule reference, case play or NFHS interpretation. I'm not interested in you opinion. Give us proof.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
Because the ball does not have to be on a tee and has nothing to do with the official being ready.
|
|
|||
Did some checking. According to Redding's guide (pg 58) which is citing 2001 NFHS interpretations: 'Adjusting the ball on the tee or moving it from the ground to an adjacent tee is not considered changing the designated spot (2001 interp, Sit 15).' So it appears you can blow the ball RFP when the ball is on the ground by the tee and the kicking team can move the ball from the ground to the tee.
Pet peeve: the correct word is 'moot' not 'mute.' |
|
|||
Sorry but not spelling this word correctly is a pet peeve of mine. The word is MOOT, as in "has no relevance".
__________________
Mike Sears |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Ball placement for extra points. | verticalStripes | Football | 7 | Thu Nov 06, 2008 01:33pm |
Ball Placement | surehands | Football | 9 | Wed Sep 03, 2008 09:23am |
What down, distance, and placement of ball | seanireland | Football | 5 | Thu Oct 30, 2003 05:43pm |
Ball placement, free kick OOB - FED | nvfoa15 | Football | 11 | Tue Aug 13, 2002 12:11pm |
Placement of Ball??? | Peter Devana | Basketball | 1 | Mon Jan 29, 2001 08:16am |