The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Holding/No Holding on Play w/ Fumble (https://forum.officiating.com/football/55022-holding-no-holding-play-w-fumble.html)

kd0254 Thu Oct 15, 2009 08:43pm

Holding/No Holding on Play w/ Fumble
 
Looking for opinions and interpretations:

Toss left and A32 is hit and fumbles backwards. The ball bounces back 5 yards or so and the defensive end, B92, is running towards the ball. The QB A12 wraps his arms around B92 and brings him to the ground.

Holding/Illegal Use of Hand or no call.

I have read 2-3-4c and 2-3-5c and 9-2 and it isn't cut and dry to me.

My thoughts are it is still holding/illegal use of hands. Others have said there is no holding on players going for a loose ball.

Thoughts, references are apprecaited.

waltjp Thu Oct 15, 2009 09:42pm

Holding.

kdf5 Thu Oct 15, 2009 10:13pm

Remember Rule 2 are the definitions. There are no fouls in Rule 2. 2-3-4 defines actions that offensive players can/can't do. 2-3-4c says he can use hands or arms when blocking: To push, pull or ward off an opponent when the ball is loose if he may legally touch or possess the ball if such contact is not pass interference, a personal foul or illegal use of hands.

Now go to 9-2-1 as it describes what's illegal for offensive players. 9-2-1a is IUH. 9-2-1c says it's holding for an offensive player to use his hands, arms or legs to hook, lock, clamp, grasp, encircle or hold in an effort to restrain an opponent.

refbuz Thu Oct 15, 2009 11:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by kd0254 (Post 631137)
Looking for opinions and interpretations:

Toss left and A32 is hit and fumbles backwards. The ball bounces back 5 yards or so and the defensive end, B92, is running towards the ball. The QB A12 wraps his arms around B92 and brings him to the ground.

Holding/Illegal Use of Hand or no call.

I have read 2-3-4c and 2-3-5c and 9-2 and it isn't cut and dry to me.

My thoughts are it is still holding/illegal use of hands. Others have said there is no holding on players going for a loose ball.

Thoughts, references are apprecaited.

It is my understanding that A12 CAN hold B92 in an effort to recover the loose ball HIMSELF, but he cannot hold B92 so that a TEAMMATE can recover the loose ball. The same would go for B.

I don't have a reference though.

I could be wrong too...

mbyron Fri Oct 16, 2009 07:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by kdf5 (Post 631147)
2-3-4c says he can use hands or arms when blocking: To push, pull or ward off an opponent when the ball is loose if he may legally touch or possess the ball if such contact is not pass interference, a personal foul or illegal use of hands.

I've always found this provision troubling: how can a player pull another player without holding him?

"Pushing" and "warding off" can be done within the restrictions that prohibit holding. I don't understand how pulling could be.

ppaltice Fri Oct 16, 2009 09:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by refbuz (Post 631159)
It is my understanding that A12 CAN hold B92 in an effort to recover the loose ball HIMSELF, but he cannot hold B92 so that a TEAMMATE can recover the loose ball. The same would go for B.

I don't have a reference though.

I could be wrong too...

Rule 2-3-4 and 2-3-5. A player can 'pull' and opponent to get to the runner or a loose ball.

ajmc Fri Oct 16, 2009 09:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ppaltice (Post 631191)
Rule 2-3-4 and 2-3-5. A player can 'pull' and opponent to get to the runner or a loose ball.

As noted above, NF:2-3-4c, allows the offensive player to do certain things, but specifically excludes, "pass interference, personal foul and illegal use of the hands."

NF: 9-2-1c defines Illegal Use of the Hands (for an offensive player) to prohibit, "Use his hands, arms, or legs to hook, lock, clamp, grasp, encircle or hold in an effort to restrain an opponent."

The intent seems clear that an offensive player is allowed to "pull" an opponent out of the way in an effort to recover a loose ball, but action designed or intended to restrain an opponent is illegal.

kdf5 Fri Oct 16, 2009 09:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ajmc (Post 631196)
As noted above, NF:2-3-4c, allows the offensive player to do certain things, but specifically excludes, "pass interference, personal foul and illegal use of the hands."

NF: 9-2-1c defines Illegal Use of the Hands (for an offensive player) to prohibit, "Use his hands, arms, or legs to hook, lock, clamp, grasp, encircle or hold in an effort to restrain an opponent."

The intent seems clear that an offensive player is allowed to "pull" an opponent out of the way in an effort to recover a loose ball, but action designed or intended to restrain an opponent is illegal.

As I posted above, 9-2-1c is holding. 9-2-1a is illegal use of hands. Illegal use of hands is any violation of the definitions found in 2-3.

whitehat Fri Oct 16, 2009 10:41am

[QUOTE
The intent seems clear that an offensive player is allowed to "pull" an opponent out of the way in an effort to recover a loose ball, but action designed or intended to restrain an opponent is illegal.[/QUOTE]

I'm with ajmc here. Although seeing this, judging it quickly and correctly with all the bodies flying around and then flagging it may be another matter ...


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1