The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Offensive encroachment?? (https://forum.officiating.com/football/54969-offensive-encroachment.html)

Ref Ump Welsch Wed Oct 14, 2009 08:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Refsmitty (Post 630800)
If he is in the NZ at the RFP it is considered encroachment by rule.

Even before the snapper puts his hand(s) on the ball?

Refsmitty Wed Oct 14, 2009 09:31am

Rfp
 
Once the RFP whistle has blown - it is encroachment

mbyron Wed Oct 14, 2009 09:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Refsmitty (Post 630827)
Once the RFP whistle has blown - it is encroachment

Only half right.

2-8 ENCROACHMENT: "Encroachment occurs when a player is illegally in the neutral zone during the
time interval starting when the ball is marked ready for play and until the ball is
snapped or free kicked."

Notice that it says "illegally in the NZ." When I'm a wing, a player lining up before the snap will not be illegally in the NZ, and so not guilty of encroachment.

Refsmitty Wed Oct 14, 2009 09:48am

Got it - thanks mbyron
 
:)

Forksref Wed Oct 14, 2009 09:53am

Coaches, where are you?
 
One of my pet peeves: Coaches who don't coach their receivers on this. I shouldn't have to be telling kids if they are legal or not before the play or moving them. I do, for the kids' sake, but it is poor coaching if you don't get your kids lining up right. It's not rocket science. Look at the ball, the interior linemen, my feet...

Umpmazza Wed Oct 14, 2009 10:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bossman72 (Post 630784)
1) Kill it and flag it.

2) If he was set for 1 sec, then ok. If not, it's an illegal shift.

3) If another player is CLEARLY in motion, then I'd flag it for illegal shift. If another player is just starting his motion, I would probably let it go.

I like mbryon answers to this... I just think your booger picking here... he tried to readjust.. let it go and talk to the player afterwards.

Robert Goodman Wed Oct 14, 2009 07:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 630835)
Only half right.

2-8 ENCROACHMENT: "Encroachment occurs when a player is illegally in the neutral zone during the
time interval starting when the ball is marked ready for play and until the ball is
snapped or free kicked."

How about players beyond the NZ? Say an entering sub? Do Fed rules allow you to make the ball RFP before players from the previous down have returned to their respective sides?

mbyron Thu Oct 15, 2009 06:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robert Goodman (Post 630974)
How about players beyond the NZ? Say an entering sub? Do Fed rules allow you to make the ball RFP before players from the previous down have returned to their respective sides?

Yes. Entering subs are permitted by rule to cross through the NZ as they enter. The encroachment restrictions do not apply until they are on their side of the NZ (or the ball is snapped).

Robert Goodman Thu Oct 15, 2009 05:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 631026)
Yes. Entering subs are permitted by rule to cross through the NZ as they enter. The encroachment restrictions do not apply until they are on their side of the NZ (or the ball is snapped).

What if they're not subs, but had been players of the previous down?

LDUB Thu Oct 15, 2009 10:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robert Goodman (Post 631123)
What if they're not subs, but had been players of the previous down?

There is no exception for them. Just because the ball is RFP does not mean that encroachment can happen.

mbyron Fri Oct 16, 2009 08:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by LDUB (Post 631151)
There is no exception for them. Just because the ball is RFP does not mean that encroachment can happen.

Right: players loitering on the wrong side of the NZ will get a "get on your side!" or "get in the huddle!" from me.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:54pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1