The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Scrimmage kick mess! (https://forum.officiating.com/football/54695-scrimmage-kick-mess.html)

Illini_Ref Sat Sep 19, 2009 06:58am

Scrimmage kick mess!
 
K punts. The punt hits the ground and R plays it on a hop. R muffs the ball (new force on a grounded kick). Ball is rolling towards R's goal line. K then muffs the ball at the 2 and it rolls into the endzone where it is recovered by K.

Touchdown or safety? This may be really easy and I am just not seeing it correctly. I know that R created a new force by muffing a grounded scrimmage kick. My problem lies with the muff by K. Is that a new force and if it is, would it be a touchback since the kick has not ended?

kdf5 Sat Sep 19, 2009 07:32am

Any kick going into R's EZ is a touchback regardless of who supplied the force. The kick never ended. Touchback.

Illini_Ref Sat Sep 19, 2009 07:47am

You are saying that ANY kick going into the endzone is a touchback?

Then why do we define a new force?

If R provides a new force and then falls on the ball in the EZ, would not that be a safety? Otherwise, who cares who created the force?

Without the rule book in front of me I cannot quote the section, but, it does say that the responsibility for forcing the ball across a goal line belongs to the team who kicked the ball, UNLESS a new force is supplied by R. That would imply that a new force by R, makes it responsible for putting the ball in the EZ. If that happens to be THEIR EZ, then it is a safety if it beocmes dead in their possession there.

mbyron Sat Sep 19, 2009 07:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Illini_Ref (Post 626220)
You are saying that ANY kick going into the endzone is a touchback?

Then why do we define a new force?

If R provides a new force and then falls on the ball in the EZ, would not that be a safety? Otherwise, who cares who created the force?

Yes, any kick that goes into the EZ is a touchback. A kick does not end until it is possessed.

We define a new force to determine the outcome when the ball enters the EZ after the kick has ended.

Illini_Ref Sat Sep 19, 2009 07:54am

I guess I am hung up on the section that says that if R muffs a grounded scrimmage kick, then it provides a new force. I read that to mean that if R muffs a grounded kick then they provide a new force.

Illini_Ref Sat Sep 19, 2009 07:58am

Nevermind, I found what I needed. The whole force thing on a kick only applies to K's EZ.

kdf5 Sat Sep 19, 2009 08:00am

2-13-4...Force is not a factor:

a. On kicks going into R’s end zone, since these kicks are always a touchback regardless of who supplied the force.

Texas Aggie Sat Sep 19, 2009 01:48pm

Quote:

K punts. The punt hits the ground and R plays it on a hop. R muffs the ball (new force on a grounded kick). Ball is rolling towards R's goal line. K then muffs the ball at the 2 and it rolls into the endzone where it is recovered by K.
This play is a touchDOWN under NCAA rules, and force or impetus has nothing to do with it. K is possessing a live ball behind their opponent's goal line -- TD. The only way this could possibly be a touchBACK is if R possessed or recovered the ball or the ball went out of bounds behind the goal line.

I had this play last year.

So is this different from Fed?

Welpe Sat Sep 19, 2009 03:22pm

Aggie, yes very different in Fed. A free or scrimmage kick breaking the plane of R's oal line is always a touchback, even if muffed by either team. The ball is dead as soon s it breaks the plane.

Robert Goodman Sat Sep 19, 2009 06:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by kdf5 (Post 626218)
Any kick going into R's EZ is a touchback regardless of who supplied the force. The kick never ended. Touchback.

Please don't assume Fed rules. The original poster didn't specify.

LDUB Sat Sep 19, 2009 06:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robert Goodman (Post 626273)
Please don't assume Fed rules. The original poster didn't specify.

Why? The vast majority of posters here only work games using NF rules. 99% of the games played in this country use NF rules.

whitehat Sat Sep 19, 2009 08:58pm

Yep, NF: Touchback. by rule the kick was never possesed and therefore never ended until it crossed the plane of R's goal line.

Good situation. better to think through that on a forum than having to try to sort it out on the field.

JRutledge Sat Sep 19, 2009 09:06pm

This is a really save assuption.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Robert Goodman (Post 626273)
Please don't assume Fed rules. The original poster didn't specify.

And the person's moniker suggests he is from a state that only uses NF rules. So yes you can assume when most of us never work an NCAA game. ;)

Peace

TXMike Sat Sep 19, 2009 09:43pm

And most officials who use NCAA rules will never use "K" and "R". That is generally a tipoff to me that they are referring to NFHS rules

Robert Goodman Sun Sep 20, 2009 01:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by TXMike (Post 626284)
And most officials who use NCAA rules will never use "K" and "R".

Why? Did NCAA stop using them?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1