![]() |
Illegal motion
So I'm working a JV last night and I have two wide receivers to my side, both on the line. The widest one turns to me and asks if he's off the line, so I told him, "No, you're on the line, you need to scoot back." As he's taking a few steps backwards, the ball is snapped. Of course, this happened right in front of the defense's sideline and their coach heard the entire thing, so he starts going nuts, saying it was a false start or illegal motion or something. I kept officiating, and the other wide receiver on my side, the one that was closer to the LOS and on the line, ended up catching a twenty yard pass and running another ten. The coach is screaming and yelling at me the entire play. I didn't know what to do, so I told him it was my fault the kid was moving and he didn't end up having any effect on the play...he just ended up running five yards downfield and stopping. His argument was that the play never should've happened. They were down like 28-0 at this point by the way, almost at the end of the first half, so the coach was in a bad mood already.
So to appease him, I called time-out and went out and explained to my WH and U what was going on. They said since the widest receiver was moving backwards at the snap, it was not a false start and not illegal motion. The WH went over to explain it to the coach and then he starts complaining that the inner receiver went downfield illegally...but he wasn't covered up at the snap because the widest receiver had moved back by then. The coach wasn't listening by then, he was so mad. |
You should have stopped with, you are on. That is all the info you should give a kid in this situation. Don't coach just officiate.
|
Quote:
That said - there's no way I'm flagging false start or motion when I'm moving a receiver unless there is an advantage gained. |
Quote:
Quote:
I agree. Technically this motion is not legal however I'm letting this one go. |
Technically speaking, it was illegal motion if he was not at least five yards behind the line of scrimmage at the snap, since he was not a back when he started his motion. (7-3-7. Foul at the snap. Five yard penalty from previous spot.) It was certainly not a false start. The other receiver was not ineligible.
As bigjohn said, this is a great reason to never tell a player to move. How do you tell a player to move, and then flag him when he does? How do you not flag an obvious foul right in front of the opposing coach? Best to avoid that dilemma altogether. During youth games, I have no reservations about giving instructions to get the players to line up correctly. By middle school, I don't have to do that. Shouldn't have to during JV, either. Tell them, "You're on," or, "You're off," and if they want to move, they can do so on their own. Then call fouls as appropriate. |
Sounds like you did the right thing for the level of the game except for stopping the game and consulting with the R and U. Your explanation to the coach was adequate and he was probably just working you.
|
Don't coach...
Quote:
|
Quote:
I agree with this. Although I think in situations where you try to move a player "out of" a foul, it may be warranted. Example: Telling a kid who lined up near the sideline before the ready to move inside the numbers. The flag is going to fly if he doesn't move, so telling him to move is giving him a chance to get legal. If doesn't get set before the snap, etc., is on him, as he was getting a flag anyway. Thoughts? |
Quote:
I wouldn't have flagged it either and would've shut the coach down sooner. I don't work wings much anymore (I'm a WH on Fridays) but when I go out there I don't put up with a lot of yelling at the lower levels. The coaches need to spend more time coaching and less time worrying about us. It isn't the NFL or even HS varsity. |
I get real tired at the JV and V level of telling them their on or off - they should know that if I punch into backfield they are off and be able to look down the line of scrimmage to see if they are on or encroaching. Thoughts?
|
Quote:
|
how to shut a coach down?
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
When I was a wing (I'm an umpire now), I would respond with "yes" or "no" if the receiver explicitly asked "am I on/off?". If they just point or look at me, I don't say anything. |
Quote:
"I hear what you're saying. Move on." If he doesn't, a flag for USC will get his undivided attention. I'm serious. |
Quote:
If the kid doesn't look, I can't help it and will just throw a flag if needed. |
What if he is in "No Man's Land"? Shouldn't you have a signal for that? Some officials will say on, off or neither. If they don't know what to do then, it is a coaching problem.
|
I tend to give the benefit of the doubt to putting the receiver in the 'legal' position if they're in "No Man's Land"... that is, if they're in a position that could be conceivably on the LOS or off the LOS, then I'd consider them to be off the LOS if they're potentially covering up another eligible receiver, and on the LOS if they need to be for the formation to be legal.
Nobody likes a ticky-tack penalty, especially an illegal formation call based on someone being lined up 2 inches 'wrong'. |
Quote:
Especially at the lower levels of play or on a terrible field, I can move myself a few inches to one side or the other to make a player legal, be it a question of receivers on/off the line, a D lineman lined up an inch in the NZ, etc. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
If the slot receiver is too close to the line, after the play I usually will talk to him (ask if he is supposed to be off the line and tell him to back up a step). If the wide out is a bit back and he is supposed to be on the line, he is on the line. Again, I may talk to him after the play, it depends on how close he is. I agree that I don't flag 'no man's land,' but I will try and correct it.
One thing I will say is that as you get a little more experience, you will have a good idea how the players are supposed to be lined up. That doesn't mean they won't make mistakes or you won't sometimes misread a formation, but you usually will know if those wide outs, flankers, slots, etc are supposed to be on the line or in the back field. |
Quote:
|
I have been in stripes since 1982, and when I am blessed to don a black hat occasionally instead of white I do help wide outs with a foot or a point and an occassional nod. But, I have always wondered why players simply cannot look inside at the ball and line up correctly; especially when they are on a yard "Line." How hard can that be?...I guess we have spoiled kids so much in every other area we might as well spoon feed them on the FB field too ;-)
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:52pm. |