![]() |
End of Iowa Game today
If you saw the end of the Iowa-UNI game today I have a question.
UNI has no time outs, The FG was attempted with ;06 to go on first down and was blocked. The ball never crosses the line of scrimmage and is recovered by the kicking team (UNI). The clock was stopped and UNI was awarded 2nd down and another FG attempt. (Which was blocked too) Why would the clock stop? |
This is why I don't officiate football lol I'm sticking with basketball and baseball. I would love to know the ruling and reasoning on this one. Glad you posted it before I got here because I wouldn't know how to describe it. It was the longest review I've ever experienced in a stadium. I think they read the ref the rule book on the headset ;)
-Josh |
Clock is stopped following any legal scrimmage kick and started on the snap. Doesn't matter if it is blocked or not. As long as they kicked it, the clocks stops following the play.
|
Quote:
-Josh |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
-Josh |
The call was definitely the right call. I was wondering about the clock status. There was 1 second left on the clock after the first kick (started with :07 not :06) so it was very close. Smart move by UNI. Too bad they couldn't convert.
|
In Fed rules, the clock would start on the ready.
|
Quote:
|
Your right. Clock doesn't stop. It keeps running.
|
In NF, the clock would not have stopped at all on that play.
An Iowa defender could have picked it up, or fell on it, but got away. A UNI player picked it up and immediately was tackled. Then Iowa blocked the next FG also to secure the win. |
Quote:
Only bad things happen when big lineman try to pick up a loose ball. Headlinesman or Line Judge in 4 and 5 man mechanics has the line of scrimmage and determines wether the kick crosses the line of scrimmage. It looks like they got it right!! |
I learned something this morning about this call. As some of you that watched the game live would have noticed a VERY long delay by the replay official reviewing the play to make sure the ball did not cross the LOS. Well, as I found out this morning from press box personnel, this was because the replay official was looking up the run and literally reading it to the ref on field :eek: There was a reason they got this ruling right.
It's funny because I thought it was an extended time to just be making sure the ball did not cross the LOS. -Josh |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:30am. |