The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 24, 2009, 07:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 11
Scrimmage Kick

Scrimmage kick from K's 25. R20 in position to catch the ball at R's 45. While ball is in air, K5 contacts R21, who is in the same vicinity of R20 and knocks him into R20. After the contact R20 muffs the kick at R's 45. What is the call if:


R20 recovers muff on R's 40?

K5 recovers ball on R's 40?

R20 recovers ball on R's 40, retreats to R's 25, where he is hit, fumbles the ball and K5 picks up the ball and advances it into the end zone?

Does anything change if R21 was coming in to block for R20?

Does anything change if there was a valid fair catch signal?


Lively discussion at the meeting. Would love to get some feedback here.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 24, 2009, 07:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,153
NFHS Forum: Blocked into R
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 24, 2009, 08:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 11
Not sure what that post decided except for I just read what looked like a transcript from our Study Group tonight. Lots of opinions, but no concrete answers.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 24, 2009, 08:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,153
6-5-ART. 6 . . . While any free kick is in flight in or beyond the neutral zone to the
receiver’s goal line or any scrimmage kick is in flight beyond the neutral zone to
the receiver’s goal line, K shall not:
a. Touch the ball or R, unless blocked into the ball or R, or to ward off a blocker;
or
b. Obstruct R’s path to the ball.
This prohibition applies even when no fair-catch signal is given, but it does not
apply after a free kick has been touched by a receiver, or after a scrimmage kick
has been touched by a receiver who was clearly beyond the neutral zone at the
time of touching.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 25, 2009, 09:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: North Alabama
Posts: 156
If K5 initiates contact with R21, he is guilty of KCI as R is in a position to catch to the kick and was impeded.

If R21 is blocking K5 and gets too close to R20 and you deem that K5 did not impede R20's path to the ball, then you have no foul.

It is a judgement call. The fact that K5 blocks R21 into R20 is not a foul by itself as K has the right to position himself near where the kick is coming down in order to make a play.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 25, 2009, 10:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,153
6-2-4

ART. 4 . . . Any K player may catch or recover a scrimmage kick while it is
beyond the neutral zone or the expanded neutral zone, provided such kick has
been touched by a receiver who was clearly beyond the neutral zone at the time
of touching. Such touching is ignored if it is caused by K pushing or blocking R
into contact with the ball or it is caused by K legally batting or muffing the ball
into R. Such catch or recovery by K beyond the neutral zone causes the ball to
become dead. (See 6-5-6 EXCEPTION)


So if K blocks any R that causes this touching it should be ignored. Not just R20. How can you say he didn't impede the kick receiver?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 29, 2009, 05:19am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Lightbulb Canadian Ruling

Quote:
Originally Posted by WGGriffon View Post
Scrimmage kick from K's 25. R20 in position to catch the ball at R's 45. While ball is in air, K5 contacts R21, who is in the same vicinity of R20 and knocks him into R20. After the contact R20 muffs the kick at R's 45. What is the call if:


A. R20 recovers muff on R's 40?

B. K5 recovers ball on R's 40?

C. R20 recovers ball on R's 40, retreats to R's 25, where he is hit, fumbles the ball and K5 picks up the ball and advances it into the end zone?

D. Does anything change if R21 was coming in to block for R20?
CANADIAN RULING:

K5's contact is legal unless it if a block in the back. This is an in-flight foul applied at PP.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 29, 2009, 04:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Watertown, SD
Posts: 56
Send a message via Skype™ to jemiller
A. R20 recovers muff on R's 40? R ball on the 40.

B. K5 recovers ball on R's 40? K's ball on the 40.

C. R20 recovers ball on R's 40, retreats to R's 25, where he is hit, fumbles the ball and K5 picks up the ball and advances it into the end zone? TD for K.

D. Does anything change if R21 was coming in to block for R20? No.

IMHO Jim
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 30, 2009, 10:55am
Chain of Fools
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,648
Are you in my association 'cause we had this same discussion Friday night between my R, BJ, and I coming home.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
scrimmage kick phansen Football 3 Fri Oct 10, 2008 04:35pm
Saw This On Scrimmage Kick golfdesigner Football 3 Sun Aug 24, 2008 10:26pm
Scrimmage kick phansen Football 6 Mon Oct 01, 2007 01:34pm
scrimmage kick? fan Football 7 Tue Sep 18, 2007 01:31pm
Another scrimmage Kick ABoselli Football 8 Mon Jan 06, 2003 08:15am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:52am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1