The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 19, 2009, 09:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 31
bossman,

Right on both counts. It's not PSK, so if K accepts the penalty it's previous spot. If for some reason K declines the penalty, R will get the ball at the spot of first touching. This is unlikely, but could happen. Suppose it had been 4th and 12 and K rocketed a kick that was first touched at R's 20. K might decline the penalty because it wouldn't be a first down and let R have the ball at R's 20.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 20, 2009, 09:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: North Alabama
Posts: 156
You have first touching, a PSK foul and K in possession at the end of the down. The only time first touching is cancelled is if R fouls after touching the ball or if any foul is accepted.

If K accepts the penalty, it will be 10 yards from either the end of the kick or the spot of the foul (using all but one).

If K declines the penalty, R will most certainly take the ball at the spot of first touching. (R could decline to take the ball at first touching too and it will be K's ball).

The key to remember for PSK (2-16-2h) is that it is not who is in possession at the end of the down, but whether K would be the next to put the ball in play. Since we have First Touching, that is not the case.

We can make the play simpler, keeping the same two elements that are confusing you:

4th and 8 from K's 30. R33 holds K12 beyond the NZ during the kick. K20 falls on the untouched kick at R15 yard line.

We still have First Touching, PSK and K in possession at the end of the down.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 23, 2009, 07:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 131
First touching is never a live-ball-penalty-enforcement spot. This holding foul is enforced from previous spot (loose-ball play). K did not obtain ball with clean hands, because of first-touching violation, and since K recovered fumble there is not PSK. Options are: Decline penalty and R gets ball at first-touching spot; accept penalty and K has 1/10 @ K40. So K will obviously accept penalty.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 24, 2009, 09:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: North Alabama
Posts: 156
This is a PSK enforcement foul. It meets all of the criteria of 2-16-2h including part 5) and K will not be next to put the ball in play. And absolutely you must consider the first touching in determining if this is a PSK foul or not.

Again, think of this play first:

PLAY1: 4th and 8 from K's 30. R33 holds K12 beyond the NZ during the kick. K20 falls on the untouched kick at R15 yard line.

K has possession of the ball at the end of the down. But R will be the next to put the ball in play (because of the first touching by K). R33's hold will be enforced using PSK enforcement. The enforcement spot will be determined from the all but 1 between where the kick ended and the spot of the foul.

PLAY2: 4th and 8 from K's 30. R33 holds K12 beyond the NZ during the kick. K20 touches the ball on R15 yard line and the ball goes out of bounds.

Still PSK foul since R will be the next to put the ball in play. The enforcement spot will be the inbounds spot of where the ball went OOB (or the spot of the foul, depending on which is worse).

PLAY3: 4th and 8 from K's 30. R33 holds K12 beyond the NZ during the kick. R86 touches the ball on R15 yard line and K falls on the ball at R20 yard line.

This is not a PSK foul as K will be the next to put the ball into play. K has the option of accepting the penalty (10 yds from previous spot and replay down) or declining the penalty and taking the ball 1st and 10 at spot of recovery.

PLAY4 (Orig): 4th and 8 from K's 30. R33 holds K12 beyond the NZ during the kick. The kick is rolling and is first touched by K at the K 45. R44 picks up the ball and runs it back to the K20 where he fumbles and K recovers.

Like play1, R will be the next to team to put the ball into play due to first touching. So, this is a PSK foul. The enforcement spot is where R picked up the ball (end of kick) or spot of the hold, depending on which is worse.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
kick play DrMooreReferee Football 22 Tue Jul 03, 2007 10:24am
Kick Play Kirby Football 15 Wed Nov 08, 2006 05:57pm
another kick play MJT Football 12 Tue Aug 22, 2006 09:07pm
Quick kick play sj Football 3 Fri Jul 21, 2006 12:04pm
Scrimmage Kick Play with IW jack015 Football 18 Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:31am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:33am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1