![]() |
Quote:
But if there are seven on the line, won't there always be three on either side of the center? I mean... if there are two on your side of the snapper and four on the other side of the snapper, then the snapper is not the center? ;) |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Isn't an "open fist" easily confused with "Military Intelligence?" |
Quote:
When I am refereeing, I also give an open hand for 10 man and a fist for 11. I maintain this signal while my U just holds up until we acknowledge each other. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
"The referee is telling you there are 11 players. Therefore, ther wing are merely dtermining if there are less than 6 on the line. As for the player in "no-mans land," Yes, the wings will determine if the formation is legal. So, I think perhaps you may have answered your own question? "
This doesn't matter much anymore in college since the rule was re-written that there be no more than 4 in the back field. So, 6 on the line is no longer a foul if a team only has 10 players. With that being the case, I can't even see a reason for the Umpire to keep his signal up for the wings. Confirm 11 (or less) with the R and you are good to go. |
Just another thought...if you use the "counting your side" technique, if you have your standard three on the line, take a QUICK look into the backfield and make sure there are four players. Just a double check for 11 O players. I can get through my pre-snap procedure so quickly I am looking for something else to do. Multitasking, per se. But one additional point: if you are unbalanced and have quads on one side, once again, you can do a double check for 11. Just helping out those in the middle a little bit.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:40pm. |