The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Punt Returner Protection to Catch/Field (https://forum.officiating.com/football/52683-punt-returner-protection-catch-field.html)

BoBo Thu Apr 02, 2009 04:38pm

Punt Returner Protection to Catch/Field
 
Team B punting to Team A

B14 punts the ball but it is low and short.

Ball land about 8 short of A22 who is running forward to field the punt.

Ball hits the ground 5 yards shot of A22 and takes two low hopes then bounces high and hits A22 in the chest where he muffs the ball.

B44 recovers the ball.

B44 the gunner on the kicking has run downfield and closing in on A22 as the ball reaches A22 -

1) hits A22 before the ball hits A22 in a blocking techniques style- result of play?

2) hits A22 after the ball hits A22 in a blocking techinique- result of play?

3) hits A22 before the ball hits A22 in a tackle (arms wrapped) - result of play?

4) hits A22 after the ball hits A22 in a tackle (arms wrapped)- result of play?

make sure state if fed or ncaa or is there is a difference between the two please

BktBallRef Thu Apr 02, 2009 07:22pm

Once the ball hits the ground, there can't be kick catching interference. It's no longer possible for him to "catch" the ball. It's perfectly legal to hit him.

BTW, your post is kind of difficult to understand. One thing that may help you in the future is that we use R for receiving team and K as kicking team. R22 instead of A22 for example.

BoBo Thu Apr 02, 2009 10:16pm

yes i was in a hurry and out touch with the football jargon right now, anyway sure most of you understand, my apologies

jjrye22 Fri Apr 03, 2009 04:09am

No problem about the wording. Better to have a pooly worded question than not have the question asked. We can still ask for clarification.

As BktBallRef pointed out Kick Catching Interference is out.

It is possible (probable from the image in my mind) to have a foul on
#3 of Illegal Use of Hands (for holding)

but all the rest should be ok.

Ref Ump Welsch Fri Apr 03, 2009 08:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jjrye22 (Post 593767)
No problem about the wording. Better to have a pooly worded question than not have the question asked. We can still ask for clarification.

As BktBallRef pointed out Kick Catching Interference is out.

It is possible (probable from the image in my mind) to have a foul on
#3 of Illegal Use of Hands (for holding)

but all the rest should be ok.

I would think #3 would be Holding because the ball is live for R to attempt a play and R22 is eligible to touch the ball and make some kind of play with it. I'm thinking of the parallel to tackling an option quarterback after he's clearly made the pitchout to the halfback and the quarterback is still eligible to touch the ball on the play. Or am I stretching the rule a bit here?

Jim D. Fri Apr 03, 2009 09:06am

I agree no KCI. NF Case Book 9.2.3 C is a similar play although it covers a pass behind the line and not a kick. However, the contact is the same as in the plays presented.

A1 is passing to A2 who is behind the line. Before the pass reaches A2, (a) B1 tackles A2 or (b) B1 blocks A2. Ruling (a) Tackling A2 is a form of holding. Defensive players are prohibited from grasping an opponent other than the runner. (b) the contact is not PI and, if the block itself is legal, there is no infraction. (7-5-10)

Ref Ump Welsch Fri Apr 03, 2009 11:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jim D. (Post 593810)
I agree no KCI. NF Case Book 9.2.3 C is a similar play although it covers a pass behind the line and not a kick. However, the contact is the same as in the plays presented.

A1 is passing to A2 who is behind the line. Before the pass reaches A2, (a) B1 tackles A2 or (b) B1 blocks A2. Ruling (a) Tackling A2 is a form of holding. Defensive players are prohibited from grasping an opponent other than the runner. (b) the contact is not PI and, if the block itself is legal, there is no infraction. (7-5-10)

So applying the principle from that case play, #3 from the OP could be holding because R22 has yet to touch the ball, no?

Robert Goodman Fri Apr 03, 2009 12:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BoBo (Post 593691)
Team B punting to Team A

Aha, trick question! Must be Canadian rules because by now the return kick is illegal in all USA codes.

Quote:

B44 the gunner on the kicking has run downfield and closing in on A22 as the ball reaches A22 -

1) hits A22 before the ball hits A22 in a blocking techniques style- result of play?

2) hits A22 after the ball hits A22 in a blocking techinique- result of play?

3) hits A22 before the ball hits A22 in a tackle (arms wrapped) - result of play?

4) hits A22 after the ball hits A22 in a tackle (arms wrapped)- result of play?
Offside intereference in 1 & 3.

Quote:

make sure state if fed or ncaa
Uh-oh...I didn't think we were in Kansas any more.

Sorry, couldn't resist.

Robert in the Bronx
(Is either NCAA or Fed still in Shawnee Mission or KCK?)

Jim D. Fri Apr 03, 2009 12:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ref Ump Welsch (Post 593857)
So applying the principle from that case play, #3 from the OP could be holding because R22 has yet to touch the ball, no?


Correct, 9-2-3-c A defensive player may not use his hands or arms to hook, lock, clamp, grasp, encircle or hold in an attempt to hold an opponent other than the runner.

Since the player in #3 is not a runner, he can't be held. Penalty - Illegal use of hands or arms.

indi456 Fri Apr 03, 2009 12:33pm

BTW, your post is kind of difficult to understand. One thing that may help you in the future is that we use R for receiving team and K as kicking team. R22 instead of A22 for example.
_____________________________
Diesel Watches | Swiss Watches

dumbref Tue Apr 07, 2009 02:21pm

I agree with the foul summary provided by Jim D. While KCI is out, we could still have first touching by K.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:06pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1