The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Free Kick After Fair Catch w/no time left? (https://forum.officiating.com/football/51884-free-kick-after-fair-catch-w-no-time-left.html)

bisonpitcher Wed Feb 25, 2009 01:53am

Free Kick After Fair Catch w/no time left?
 
I know in the NFL, the recieving team can request a free kick after FC with no time left on the clock. How about NFHS rule on this. I know you can attempt w/ a tee in NFHS, but what about if the fair catch occurs with no time left on the clock. Can the half/game be extended by the team wanting to attempt the free kick. (I am a baseball official, but I kick in a semi-pro football league, and wanted to know the rule in case it ever came up.)

daggo66 Wed Feb 25, 2009 07:53am

There is no provision for extending the half or game under NFHS rules for that scenario. 3.3.3. If you are playing semi-pro aren't you using NFL rules?

bisonpitcher Wed Feb 25, 2009 01:18pm

We used NFL rules last year. SInce most of our crews are HS crews from the area, there was some confusion on rule difference, calls were being enforced differently by different crews. So this year, they decided to revert to HS rules with a few NFL modifications, such as the runner has to be down by contact and kickoff from the 30, we also have a 2 minute warning. Thank you for the clarification on the time extension.

BktBallRef Wed Feb 25, 2009 06:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by daggo66 (Post 582970)
There is no provision for extending the half or game under NFHS rules for that scenario. 3.3.3. If you are playing semi-pro aren't you using NFL rules?

If there's a flag for KCI and R takes an awarded FC on the last timed down of the period, a FK could be attempted during the untimed down.

If a FC or a awarded FC occurred, the offense accepted a defensive penalty following the 1st down play and time expired, the offense could take a FK during the untimed down.

daggo66 Wed Feb 25, 2009 11:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 583246)
If there's a flag for KCI and R takes an awarded FC on the last timed down of the period, a FK could be attempted during the untimed down.

If a FC or a awarded FC occurred, the offense accepted a defensive penalty following the 1st down play and time expired, the offense could take a FK during the untimed down.


I'm not so sure about that. Why would they get an untimed down? Accepting the awarded FC doesn't provide for a replay of the down.

ajmc Thu Feb 26, 2009 10:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by daggo66 (Post 583316)
I'm not so sure about that. Why would they get an untimed down? Accepting the awarded FC doesn't provide for a replay of the down.

The awarding of a fair catch, as described in the above play is one of the penalty options available. Accepting the KCI penalty would offer the same provision, of an untimed down, as accepting any other foul committed during the last timed down of a period.

daggo66 Thu Feb 26, 2009 11:45am

I don't necessarily agree since by accepting an "awarded" FC there is no replay provision. On what basis are you extending the period. Please provide references.

Ed Hickland Thu Feb 26, 2009 03:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by daggo66 (Post 583459)
I don't necessarily agree since by accepting an "awarded" FC there is no replay provision. On what basis are you extending the period. Please provide references.

NFHS 6-5-6 Penalty R may accept a 15-yard penalty from the previous spot and the replay of the down or choose to accept the penalty of an awarded fair catch at the spot of the foul.

And, NFHS 3-3-3a A period must be extended by an untimed down if during the last timed down of the period, one of the following occurred: a. There was a foul by either team and the penalty is accepted, except for unsportsmanlike fouls, non-player fouls and fouls that specify a loss of down...

daggo66 Thu Feb 26, 2009 04:45pm

I've thought this through and it makes sense now. If they didn't get another play after the awarded fair catch and it was replayed instead, K wouldn't kick the ball.

ajmc Thu Feb 26, 2009 06:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by daggo66 (Post 583590)
I've thought this through and it makes sense now. If they didn't get another play after the awarded fair catch and it was replayed instead, K wouldn't kick the ball.

I think you're still missing the point. BskBallRef,s started out with the presumption, "If there's a flag for KCI and R takes an awarded FC" . That means the penalty for the KCI was accepted, and the fouled team is entitled to an untimed down.

Because of the unique options associated with an accepted FCI penalty, R gets to choose if they wish to begin, their untimed down, either by a snap or a free kick. If they choose a free kick, it can score 3 points if goes over the cross bar between the uprights.

If there is a foul during that untimed down, R would be given another untimed down, after penalty enforcement and again, they would have the option to put the ball in play by either snap, or free kick.

Example: R is behind by 2 points. R chooses an awarded FC after K commits KCI at the 50 yard line, and time expires during the kick. R chooses to start an untimed down with a forward pass, that is complete to the "K" (now "B") 35 yard line, and "B" roughs the passer.

"R" (now "A") accepts the penalty for roughing, which brings the ball to the "B" 20 yard line, and entitles "A" to another untimed down. Because the next untimed down will be a repeat of a down for which "A" had the choice to snap or free kick, that choice continues to the next untimed down.

"A" can elect to free kick from the "B" 20 yard line. "B's" free kick line will be their own 10 yard line, and if the kick passes over the crossbar and between the uprights, "A" has earned 3 points and a win.

Mike L Thu Feb 26, 2009 07:24pm

It would have been much easier to simply state that the only way you can have an "awarded" fair catch is by an accepted penalty, which forces extension.

BktBallRef Thu Feb 26, 2009 10:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mike L (Post 583628)
It would have been much easier to simply state that the only way you can have an "awarded" fair catch is by an accepted penalty, which forces extension.

The simplest explanation doesn't always get through the hardest of heads on Internet discussion boards. :)

golfnref Fri Feb 27, 2009 07:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bisonpitcher (Post 582953)
I know in the NFL, the recieving team can request a free kick after FC with no time left on the clock. How about NFHS rule on this. I know you can attempt w/ a tee in NFHS, but what about if the fair catch occurs with no time left on the clock. Can the half/game be extended by the team wanting to attempt the free kick. (I am a baseball official, but I kick in a semi-pro football league, and wanted to know the rule in case it ever came up.)

NFL rules differ from NFHS on this subject. Following is a summary of NFL rules pertainining to fair catch on the last play of a period and extending the period. NFL Rule 4, Sec 3, Art 11 (g) & (h).

If time expired on the play and the receiver signals and makes a fair catch, receiving team may elect to extend with a fair-catch kick. There is no option to snap from scrimmage. If the first or third period is not extended the receivers may start the suceeding period with a snap or fair-catch kick.

If time expired on the play and receiver does not signal for a fair catch, and he is interfered with, the receiving team will be awarded a 15 yard penalty and an option to extend, but must put the ball in play by a snap from scrimmage.

If time expired on the play and receiver signals for a fair catch, and is interfered with, receiving team will be awarded a 15 yard penalty and has the option to extend with a fair-catch kick or may put the ball in play by a snap from scrimmage.

ajmc Sat Feb 28, 2009 11:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by golfnref (Post 583967)
NFL rules differ from NFHS on this subject.

If time expired on the play and the receiver signals and makes a fair catch, receiving team may elect to extend with a fair-catch kick. There is no option to snap from scrimmage. If the first or third period is not extended the receivers may start the suceeding period with a snap or fair-catch kick.

If time expired on the play and receiver does not signal for a fair catch, and he is interfered with, the receiving team will be awarded a 15 yard penalty and an option to extend, but must put the ball in play by a snap from scrimmage.

If time expired on the play and receiver signals for a fair catch, and is interfered with, receiving team will be awarded a 15 yard penalty and has the option to extend with a fair-catch kick or may put the ball in play by a snap from scrimmage.

Can you help me accept your interpretation with reference to a rule? Looking at NF: 3.3.3 it states; "A period must be extended by an untimed down if duringthe last timed down of the period one of the following occured:

a. There was a foul be either team and the penalty is accepted, except for those fould listed in 3-3-4b (which lists the following):
1. USC
2. non-player fouls
3. fouls that specify loss of down, or
4. fouls that are enforced on the subsequent KO
as in Rule 8-2-2 (which relates to fouls
during a scoring play)


b. There was a double foul.
c. There was an inadvertent whistle.
d. If a TD was scored, the try is attempted.......

If (a), (b), (c) or (d)occurs during the untimed down, the procedure is repeated."

NF: 3.3.4 refers to when the period is NOT extended, much of which is a repetition of 3.3.3 from the opposite perspective.

The only reference I can find that would point to enforcing any of these penalties on the "subsequent" Kick Off is in the reference to NF: 8.2.2 which deals entirely with fould commited during a scoring play.

The "Penalty Section", under nf: 6.5 (Fair Catch) provides for the additional option of "accept the penalty of an awarded FC at the spot of the foul", for KCI, without any limitation as to when this option is available.

NF: 2.24.3 provides that, "A fee Kick is any legal kick which puts the ball in play........A free kick is used for a kickoff, for a kick following a safety, and is used if a free kick is chosen following a fair catch or awarded fair catch"

Could you direct me to where you found instructions that the option to choose a Free Kick, after enforcement of a KCI penalty is prohibited during the extension of any period by an untimed down. Thanks.

golfnref Sat Feb 28, 2009 02:40pm

Ajmc, Notice I said NFL rules differ from NF rules. I was quoting the applicable NFL rules. The original post referred to NFL rules. This is
why I was pointing out the differences. Sorry if I misled.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:05pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1