![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
It is a touchdown, when:
-ball in runner´s possession breaks a plane of goalline (this rule is used, when offense is running into the endzone. This wasn´t this case) -there is a completed catch in the endzone (that´s the rule, that was used). When throwing a pass, all four boundary lines of the endzone are equal. Receiver can stand inside the endzone, can extend his arms beyond endline or sideline, and if he completes the catch (that means both feet down, firmly grasping the ball), it is a touchdown - no matter where the ball is - whether the ball is inside or outside the endzone. And the same rule applies, when it´s caugth across the goalline. Let say, endzone is a huge aquarium - if you extend your arms from the aquarium and you have your feet on "aquarium´s floor", it is a catch IN aquarium. There were many many touchdowns like yesterday´s one. And it never was questionable. Ref made poor announcement, but ruling was clear. During the game, when Holmes muffed a punt, ref for some unknown reason assured everybody, that receiving team can advance a punt. Also that announcement was strange... What is really bad - all servers, NFL.com included, report about wild touchdown, etc. Is it really such a huge problem to call Perreira and say "Mike, you know, we and all the nation are so stupid, that we don´t know the rules, can you explain the rules for us"? And it is not necessary to call Perreira, even somebody with knowledge of rules can be asked... |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Aquarium "rule" applies only to passing game. For running game´s purposes, breaking the plane of goalline is rellevant.
Would Holmes catch the ball with left foot in the endzone and then rigth at "one-yard" (also something, what would cause the pass incomplete, would it be across the sideline, not goalline), he would be credited witch catch, but outside the aquarium (therefore no TD) and forward progress would be determined according to the position of the football in moment he would be down by contact |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
It is not a TD if you catch the ball on the non-goal side of the goal line, if it never crosses the line, regardless of where parts of your body are. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Ravens/Patriots last night | OverAndBack | Football | 21 | Wed Dec 05, 2007 08:15pm |
| Steelers Illegal Formation | Simbio | Football | 2 | Wed Jan 25, 2006 06:41pm |
| Cowboys/Steelers question | WindyCityBlue | Football | 16 | Tue Oct 19, 2004 01:29pm |
| MNF Titans/Ravens | mnref | Football | 2 | Thu Nov 15, 2001 11:33am |
| Steelers-Raiders | BackJudge | Football | 3 | Fri Dec 08, 2000 01:22pm |