The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Mon Nov 24, 2008, 10:44am
Official Forum Member

What do you think?

View the following video (@ 25 second mark):

YouTube - OU intercepts Graham Harrell. Ref gets friendly with an OU player.

I am just in my 2nd year officiating football here in Texas, but what do you think the official was thinking by visiably berating a player on national tv? Should we learn from this as what NOT to do as an official?

Thoughts???
Old Mon Nov 24, 2008, 11:23am
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Da Official View Post

I am just in my 2nd year officiating football here in Texas, but what do you think the official was thinking by visiably berating a player on national tv? Should we learn from this as what NOT to do as an official?

Thoughts???
Absent the contact, I see nothing wrong with this. I have no audio so he might have said something he should not have said, but chewing on a player definitely has its place in our game management tool box.

Are you perhaps wearing your fan hat?

Last edited by Blue37; Mon Nov 24, 2008 at 11:31am. Reason: spelling error
Old Mon Nov 24, 2008, 11:24am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock

I has once before made it very clear to a player that I thought he was acting unsportsmanlike, but I had no evidence. It was a type of action that would warrant an ejection. The player's look was that he was busted, but go away with one. I didn't go to the extreme that this official went to, but the emotions in a top-level D1 game are among the most intense possible - even moreso than some NFL games.

I'd like to know what force caused the ref to almost fall over. Somebody hit him (by accident I'm sure) but had the red player not been there, it's quite possible that the ref would have been knocked to the ground.