![]() |
Question About Declining A Penalty
Watching the Vandy/Tennessee game. Tennessee blocked a Vandy extra point, but Tennessee was offsides on the play. Vandy declined the penalty and re-kicked from the 3 (not sure why they didn't want to kick from the 1.5, but that's another discussion for another day). My question is this: If they declined the penalty, why were they allowed to re-kick?
|
You may accept the penalty but decline the yardage associated with the penalty. I’m certain that’s what occurred. The theory is that the angle of the kick is worse from the 1.5 than the 3.
|
And NCAA rules permit the team on offense the option of having the ball placed anywhere behind the 3 yard line if they choose it before the ready for play whistle. So if they wanted to adjust the angel even more or give their receivers more room to work, they could snap from any yard line behind the 3
|
Fed also allows adjustment between the inbound marks prior to the ready but not the yardline. Interesting difference I did not know about.
|
But if they wanted to kick on the try, wouldn't they place the ball on the mark in the middle of the field? That would eliminate kicking from an angle.
|
Most kickers are head cases anyway so who knows what they are thinking?
|
Quote:
|
Canadian Ruling
Quote:
Team A gets to repeat the convert from the same spot and apply the 5 yards on the subsequent or induced KO, or move up half-the-distance on the convert, and if there isone, have the KO from the usual spot. Also, why do you say that a player went "offsides". How can a player, who is an individual (ie. singular) be "offsides". Isn't a player "offside", rather? Why do you pluralize offside? I believe that it is incorrect grammar to do so. |
Quote:
|
You learn something new every day. I didn't know that you could refuse the yardage but take the penalty. I guess I've never seen that happen before. Thanks guys.
|
is that true in NFHS as well?
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Don't know about NCAA, but under the NFHS code, (NF: 8.3.1) "After a TD, the scoring team shall attempt a try during which the ball is snapped from a spot designated by A anywhere between the inbounds lines on B's 3 yard line unless moved by penalty.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:51am. |