|  | 
|  | 
| 
 | |||
| 
				
				Downfield Coverage
			 
			
			NFHS Rules.  Coach tells me his understanding is a defender can bump and run a potential receiver until the ball is in the air. We respond a defender cannot bump a potential receiver off his route. What is the interpretation of the rule? | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			B may ward off a potential blocker.  It's interpreted to mean that once a receiver gains the same yard line as the defender the receiver is no longer a threat to block and can not be contacted by the defender.
		 
				__________________ I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell! | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			Also if A is moving away from B then B cannot block A as A is not a potential blocker.  You can still have a foul for illegal use of hands even if A never gets even/past B.
		 | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			So, if A is running his route and not approaching B then B cannot move toward A and contact him?
		 | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			Correct.
		 
				__________________ I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell! | 
|  | 
| Bookmarks | 
| 
 |  | 
|  Similar Threads | ||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post | 
| Covering Downfield | Ed Hickland | Football | 4 | Thu Jul 24, 2008 07:59am | 
| lineman downfield | raiderfan | Football | 6 | Tue Oct 23, 2007 06:48pm | 
| Ineligible downfield / OPI | Wes | Football | 10 | Wed Oct 13, 2004 09:45am | 
| Ineligible man downfield | Patsfan2431 | Football | 24 | Fri Oct 10, 2003 01:05am | 
| Ineligibles Downfield | Smiley | Football | 7 | Mon Jul 14, 2003 07:26pm |