The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Illegal Forward Pass Ruling in MIN-GB Game (https://forum.officiating.com/football/49771-illegal-forward-pass-ruling-min-gb-game.html)

Trap Mon Nov 10, 2008 09:45am

I think this was an error, it happens all the time in the NFL. They are very liberal in allowing the ball to be thrown away. I think the Ref had his mind made up he was going to call a penalty. From what he told the coach it was an unnatural throwing motion, that is why he called the penalty. He later found out that probably wouldn't be a good reason, thus later changed it to being IG, something he could defend. Regardless, I think he had his mind made up and wasn't going to change it regardless of what his crew told him. JMO

Umpmazza Mon Nov 10, 2008 09:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 549496)
Which part of my post didn't you understand?


But he didn't say IG.. its IFP. that's was my questions... maybe he messed up ( which I highly doubt).. but it could of happen.

Bob M. Mon Nov 10, 2008 12:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by PackersFTW (Post 549492)
you cannot officiate intent,...

REPLY: Then why precisely do they call the foul INTENTional grounding if the official is not supposed to judge intent? :confused::confused::confused:

OverAndBack Mon Nov 10, 2008 12:17pm

Fanboy...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by PackersFTW (Post 549492)
you cannot officiate intent

We are actually required to do this from time to time.

They took "intent" out of the spearing rule a couple of years back, but we do have to officiate intent on intentional grounding or on a hit that we believe was with intent to injure or to punish the opponent.

Forksref Mon Nov 10, 2008 03:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bisonlj (Post 549411)
I wondered the same thing. The receiver was definitely in the direction of the pass so I was surprised when I saw the flag. We he gave the signal and announced illegal forward pass and not intentional grounding, I assumed there was some aspect of the rule I did not know. As a Vikings fan I was happy about it though! Another strange Vikings game! They have found the strangest way to win games this year.

and lose.

Forksref Mon Nov 10, 2008 03:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bob M. (Post 549568)
REPLY: Then why precisely do they call the foul INTENTional grounding if the official is not supposed to judge intent? :confused::confused::confused:


Intentional Forward Pass Interference 7-5-2c (table) An additional 15 yards

Intentional Grounding 7-5-1d (table)

Intentionally Contacting An Official 9-4-2

BktBallRef Mon Nov 10, 2008 05:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MJT (Post 549451)
Not only did he throw the pass only to save yardage, but he had no idea there was a receiver in the area. He never looked up at all, he just got the ball and threw it underhand as he as falling to the ground in the EZ, which he knew would be a safety, so he was trying to avoid it with his pass. The ball never got to the LOS. It was the correct call.

Agreed. Ray Charles could have made that call.

BktBallRef Mon Nov 10, 2008 05:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Umpmazza (Post 549523)
But he didn't say IG.. its IFP. that's was my questions... maybe he messed up ( which I highly doubt).. but it could of happen.

IG is an IFP. How hard is that to understand?

BktBallRef Mon Nov 10, 2008 06:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SportsFan (Post 549482)
I suppose he likes to call all IFPs like that, but he had several Fox analysts confused, including Troy Aikman and Michael Strahan.

LOL! And THAT is not new! :p

Rich Mon Nov 10, 2008 06:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 549667)
LOL! And THAT is not new! :p

I'm enjoying this. You should've heard the Packers fans in the bar I was in during the game. High theater, indeed.

Ed Hickland Mon Nov 10, 2008 08:32pm

He did not get out of the tackle box and the ball did not cross the line of scrimmage and from my understanding of the rule that criteria must be met.

JugglingReferee Mon Nov 10, 2008 10:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ed Hickland (Post 549681)
He did not get out of the tackle box and the ball did not cross the line of scrimmage and from my understanding of the rule that criteria must be met.

He is SOOO close to being outside the tackle box, can they really be that accurate with an unmarked area of the field? It seems to me that a flag happy official would flag something right on the border.

JugglingReferee Mon Nov 10, 2008 10:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 549666)
IG is an IFP. How hard is that to understand?

Using wrong terminology in an error. At the NFL level, they should be dinged for such an error. Why have IG is there's no need for it? The calling official definitely erred on the play.

JasonTX Mon Nov 10, 2008 11:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 549704)
He is SOOO close to being outside the tackle box, .

That may be true, but the ball also has to cross the neutral zone.

Umpmazza Tue Nov 11, 2008 12:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 549666)
IG is an IFP. How hard is that to understand?

I guess very hard.. for those guys to use the wrong terminology in a game. So all i was trying to say, is why did he... I didnt need all your sarcasm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:26am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1