![]() |
Question on Free Kick
On a free kick, does the kicking team have to use a tee, or can they lay the ball on the ground by the tee, but not touching it?
We had this situation in a Pee Wee game and another Ref told me that the ball had too be touching the tee. I couldn't find anything in the rules that support this statement. |
no
you won't find any rules support as there is none. Sounded like you worked with a guy who doesn't know the rules or makes up his own.
|
Did you ever notice that when officials make up rules, it's nearly always to prohibit rather than allow something? This observation supports a larger theory about giving small people a little power: they feel that they must exercise it as often as possible by saying "no."
|
No, I've never noticed that.
|
Quote:
Robert |
I've seen a team place the ball next to the tee, huddle up and wait for the signal from the R. Once the whistle is blown the kicker will walk up to the ball to place the ball on the tee, but instead kick the ball to an unsuspecting team.
USC, yes? |
No, that is legal. There is not requirement for the ball to be on a tee for it to be legally kicked so the receiving team needs to be alert for a kick once the RFP is blown.
|
Quote:
Some of the other officials in our association would be a different story. |
Quote:
|
I can't find any reference to the requirement of a kicking tee in NF 6.1 (Free Kicks). Nor is there any suggestion regarding a kicking tee in NF: 2.24.3, which defines a "Free Kick".
NF:2.24.5 describing a "kickoff" limits the type of kick to be used as either a "drop kick" or a "place kick". NF:2.24.7, defines "a place kick" is a legal kick made while the ball is in a fixed position on the ground or on a kicking tee". Just an observation, but there seems to be WAY TOO MANY attempts to blow things up into USC under some exaggerated concept of "Intent to Deceive". Football is all about deception, and the counter ability of being smart enough to avoid being deceived by gimmicks. |
2008 Rule Change, rule 9-9-4...
Rule 9-9-4 No player shall use a kicking tee in violation of Rule 1-3-4. Rule 1-3-4 simply states that the tee can only elevate the lowest point of the ball no more than 2 inches above the ground. Since the tee is not being used to elevate the ball, it's not being used in accordance to the rules, and should not be out on the field. But I think the intent of those rules is to put an end to using tees improperly, but not for the case at hand. So... Rule 1-1-6 A referee has authority to rule promptly, and in the spirit of good sportsmanship, on any situation not specifically covered in the rules. |
What was changed this year is the penalty for using an illegal tee. Note the rule says that a tee can only elevate a ball no more than 2 inches off the ground. In other words, a tee that elevates the lowest point of the ball more than 2 inches above the ground is illegal.
Per the definition of a legal kick, a tee is not required and there is nothing in the rules that specifies how the ball is placed on the tee. There are teams that put the ball sideways on a tee for a kick off. That is perfectly legal, so is kicking it directly off of the ground, or having it resting on the tee while also on the ground (for a free kick anyways). Free kicks and what constitutes a legal kick are specifically covered in the rules, so I do not believe you have any basis for using 1-1-6 in ruling this USC. |
I beg to differ. Using a tee as a decoy is not covered in the rules, hence 1-1-6.
|
Quote:
Meanwhile, AFAIK Fed has not extended to free kicks the prohibition on playing the ball while using verbal signals indicating not being ready. But if anyone can put a kicking tee out there without using it, why couldn't team R also throw their kicking tee out there? And maybe a few tackling dummies, and play like Bobby Riggs used to play handicap tennis (with obstacles on his side of the net)? Robert |
I'm not sure which code you are referring to, DesertZebra, but the notion that "Using a tee as a decoy is not covered in the rules, hence 1-1-6." is simply ridiculous.
|
So making a travesty of the game by resorting to acting, with props, is okay then? Glad I'm not in your association.
I'm all for deception, as long as it's done in a gentleman's manner. Playing tricks on the other team is not football, it's chickensh.. |
Quote:
Quote:
You wouldn't flag a team for running a fake field goal and having a tee on the field, would you? The tee was just as much of a prop in this situation as a fake field goal. Rule 1-1-6 is intended to be used in the bizarre situations where there truly is no rule support at all. Such as a dog running onto the field during a play and stealing the football. There is plenty of rules coverage for kicks, legal and illegal equipment so I believe it is a true stretch to say there is no rule coverage for this play. Quote:
Teams have been free kicking the ball directly off of the ground for years and the Fed has not seen fit to specifically outlaw this act yet. I cannot see calling this USC. That is not within the spirit of the rules. |
Just so we're clear, I have no problem with kicking the ball while laying on the ground next to a tee. My beef is when a kicker walks up to the ball, as if to place it on the tee, and then gives it a little boot. That action is what I'm calling USC.
|
Quote:
How about putting the unused tee on the ground in a side zone of the field? How about several? Gee, ya never know when you might need to place kick from any of various spots, so why not have a tee there for convenience, huh? Robert |
How about preventive officiating? Don't you guys have an official handing the ball to the kicker? When he places the ball on the ground next to the tee, tell him to put it on the tee. Once a spot is designated he must kick from that spot, so therefore he shouldn't be attempting to put the ball on the tee. If he says he is going to kick it off the ground, tell him to remove the tee from the field. Problem solved.:D
|
A different free kick question
I asked this on another board but want to get a few more views....
K's team lines up for a free kick,after the ready for play is given the kicker approaches the ball but for some reason decides not to kick it.the kicker and only the kicker goes beyond the free kick line he then retreats behind the ball and then kicks the ball, No other K player breaks the free-kick line and the kick is before the 25 second clock expires legal? I know there are rules that allow the holder and the kicker to go beyond the free kick line but I cant find any casebook plays that deals with the above question... what do you guys think? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
I would say USC as the kicker walking toward the ball and the motion of attempting to place the ball on the tee when a kick is imminent |
Quote:
Robert |
Quote:
Robert |
NF:2.24.5 describing a "kickoff" limits the type of kick to be used as either a "drop kick" or a "place kick".
Is the ball able to be recovered by K after the dropkick in the air? It isn't on a placekick unless grounded but a dropkick has bounced off the ground but not after being kicked. Just curious. |
what are all the situations you can dropkick in NFHS?
|
Quote:
A drop kick is a legal kick by a player who drops the ball and kicks it when it touches the ground or as it is rising from the ground. A drop kick may be used for a scrimmage kick, a kickoff, a free kick following a safety, or for a free kick following a fair catch or awarded fair catch. |
Quote:
Can someone give me a rule reference for "intent to deceive". I can't find the passage for that. 007 |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:12am. |