![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Followup on the NCAA ruling (free vs scrimmage kick)
So is it correct then that under NCAA rules, R can signal for a fair catch without a penalty on a free kick after it has hit the ground, but can NOT do this for a scrimmage kick after it has hit the ground?
Reason I ask, I've read a case play in the 2008 Football Rule Differences book p123: Play: 4th and 12 on K's 30. After K1's punt lands on team R's 35 and bounds high into the air, R2 gives a fair-catch signal, grabs the ball at his 30 and is tackled there by K7. Book has, NFHS: Invalid Signal, 5yards PSK, 1st and 10 for R at own 25. NCAA: Invalid signal, ball is dead where it is recovered. 1st and 10 for R at own 30. So it would seem (assuming that ruling is correct) that R can signal for a fair catch after the ball hits the ground on a free kick but not a scrimmage kick, is that right? |
|
|||
|
As JasonTX points out ... no foul under NCAA rules.. This was changed a number of years ago because those who make the rules felt the crime did not fit the punishment. It's just a signal, the play will be killed as soon as the ball is possessed. great change imho.
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Invalid Fair Catch Signal During a Free Kick | MNBlue | Football | 9 | Sun Sep 07, 2008 02:32pm |
| Fair Catch Signal?? | YellowFlag | Football | 4 | Mon Oct 03, 2005 11:09am |
| Valid/Invalid Fair Catch | lds7199 | Football | 9 | Fri Aug 19, 2005 07:23am |
| invalid fair catch | parepat | Football | 17 | Mon Oct 11, 2004 11:05am |
| Invalid Fair Catch | Simbio | Football | 17 | Thu Sep 09, 2004 03:39pm |