The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Cut block (https://forum.officiating.com/football/49228-cut-block.html)

hawkishowl20 Sat Oct 04, 2008 02:39pm

Cut block
 
I watched a high school team last night. One team ran a play several times in which a back (lined up over the guard) went to kick out the defensive tackle (who typically was lined up on the outside shoulder of the offensive tackle) he would cut him rather aggressively. This is on the edge of the tackle box but the ball carrier is running close to the block. I was curious because this seemed to be a base play of theirs if they were (borderline on) running an illegal play. What if the defensive player widened away from the tackle? Ball carrier nearby?Rulings?

BktBallRef Sat Oct 04, 2008 02:52pm

Makes no difference where the defender is lined up. A back cannot legally block below the waist.

RochesterRef Sat Oct 04, 2008 04:03pm

Agreed. No back can EVER block below the waist without a flag

trocared Sun Oct 05, 2008 12:41pm

it depends...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by RochesterRef (Post 541146)
Agreed. No back can EVER block below the waist without a flag

This would depend on where the high school game was played....if in Texas, or a couple of other states that use NCAA rules, it would be perfectly legal.
If it was under NFHS rules however, the previous statements are true.
cheers,
tro

Robert Goodman Sun Oct 05, 2008 02:08pm

Usually on a kick-out block by a blocking back you don't want to cut block anyway, because you're trying to open a hole, and the player being cut can easily fall forward & clog the hole. So usually the BB starts out in a low stance and is moving his shoulders upward as he approaches his target.

More often you see the cut block on a trap where the player being trapped has already penetrated and just has to be kept from reacting.

Robert

JugglingReferee Sun Oct 05, 2008 04:51pm

Canadian Ruling
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by hawkishowl20 (Post 541135)
I watched a high school team last night. One team ran a play several times in which a back (lined up over the guard) went to kick out the defensive tackle (who typically was lined up on the outside shoulder of the offensive tackle) he would cut him rather aggressively. This is on the edge of the tackle box but the ball carrier is running close to the block. I was curious because this seemed to be a base play of theirs if they were (borderline on) running an illegal play. What if the defensive player widened away from the tackle? Ball carrier nearby?Rulings?

CANADIAN RULING:

Blocking below the waist is legal if all 3 conditions are true:
  • the block occured in the Close Line Play Area*
  • the blocker was set in the CLPA at the time of the snap
  • the blocker at no time prior to the snap was outside the CLPA
*CLPA = tackle to tackle, ± 2 yards from LS (ie. 2 yards behind or beyond the LS)

JRutledge Sun Oct 05, 2008 06:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by trocared (Post 541262)
This would depend on where the high school game was played....if in Texas, or a couple of other states that use NCAA rules, it would be perfectly legal.
If it was under NFHS rules however, the previous statements are true.
cheers,
tro

People are fully aware of Texas and those other states. No one is talking about states that do not use NF rules. And based on previous posts from the person posting, he is not from Texas (Massachusetts, which my understanding are the only two states the NCAA Rules apply).

Peace

jimy2shooz Mon Oct 06, 2008 08:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by hawkishowl20 (Post 541135)
I watched a high school team last night. One team ran a play several times in which a back (lined up over the guard) went to kick out the defensive tackle (who typically was lined up on the outside shoulder of the offensive tackle) he would cut him rather aggressively. This is on the edge of the tackle box but the ball carrier is running close to the block. I was curious because this seemed to be a base play of theirs if they were (borderline on) running an illegal play. What if the defensive player widened away from the tackle? Ball carrier nearby?Rulings?

If he is lined up over the guard then he's not a back. If he is lined up behind the guard then you have a foul if he blocks below the waist on his initial move.

jimy2shooz Mon Oct 06, 2008 08:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RochesterRef (Post 541146)
Agreed. No back can EVER block below the waist without a flag

Wrong! Ever is a not always true. The initial contact can begin above the waist and while still in contact with the defender can slide down and and can eventually block below the waist.

trocared Mon Oct 06, 2008 08:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 541305)
People are fully aware of Texas and those other states. No one is talking about states that do not use NF rules. And based on previous posts from the person posting, he is not from Texas (Massachusetts, which my understanding are the only two states the NCAA Rules apply).

Peace

Thanks Rut.
I was not attempting to undercut the previous posters to show how much more I know than they. I live 900 miles from Texas (and twice that far from Mass.), and through the miracle of cable tv, was able to watch my first 5A Texas High School game a few years ago. Sometime in the first quarter (after a wing official signaled "uncatchable") I realized they were using NCAA rules. The original poster, like myself, has a short history in this forum, and I was attempting to address this issue (watching a texas hs game on cable).
If I choose to assume that everyone is fully aware that tx uses ncaa, i could also assume that everyone should be fully aware that under fed, a back can never cut block anyone, anywhere.
cheers,
tro

Blue37 Mon Oct 06, 2008 09:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jimy2shooz (Post 541368)
Wrong! Ever is a not always true. The initial contact can begin above the waist and while still in contact with the defender can slide down and and can eventually block below the waist.

Rule 2 Definitions of Playing Terms
SECTION 3 BLOCKING
ART. 7 Blocking below the waist is making initial contact below the waist from the front or side against an opponent other than a runner. Blocking below the waist applies only when the opponent has one or both feet on the ground. (emphasis added)

BktBallRef Mon Oct 06, 2008 09:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jimy2shooz (Post 541368)
Wrong! Ever is a not always true. The initial contact can begin above the waist and while still in contact with the defender can slide down and and can eventually block below the waist.

Wrong! What you describe is not a block below the waist. That's why it's legal.

A block below the waist occurs when initial contact occurs below the waist. It's always illegal when done by a back.

Let's not complicate things, whatcha say? :)

jimy2shooz Mon Oct 06, 2008 10:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 541380)
Wrong! What you describe is not a block below the waist. That's why it's legal.

A block below the waist occurs when initial contact occurs below the waist. It's always illegal when done by a back.

Let's not complicate things, whatcha say? :)

Have to respectfully disagree with you sir. If action described above is not considered blocking what do you have?? If the initial block begins above the waist and the blocking continues below the waist..I have to call that blocking in book. And legal of course. Whatcha say?

JugglingReferee Mon Oct 06, 2008 10:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jimy2shooz (Post 541410)
Have to respectfully disagree with you sir. If action described above is not considered blocking what do you have?? If the initial block begins above the waist and the blocking continues below the waist..I have to call that blocking in book. And legal of course. Whatcha say?

BBR is right. Re-read the entire thread if you need to.

PSU213 Mon Oct 06, 2008 11:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jimy2shooz (Post 541410)
Have to respectfully disagree with you sir. If action described above is not considered blocking what do you have?? If the initial block begins above the waist and the blocking continues below the waist..I have to call that blocking in book. And legal of course. Whatcha say?

What was descibed by BBR is a block (bascially all contact between 2 players is a block...some just happen to qualify and illegal--block below the waist, from behing, etc), and he was pointing out that the block that starts high and then continues low is not blocking below the waist (and, thus, not a foul).


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:16am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1