![]() |
illegal shift or illegal motion
Fed rules.
I know this is not a big deal because the enforcement is the same. However, if all 11 A players break the huddle and come to set positions. Then, two players ( both are backs off the LOS) go in motion not towards the opponents goaline. The ball is snap while both players are in motion. Illegal shift or illegal motion. I heard this argued both ways. |
Illegal shift 2-39 & 7-2-6
|
How does 2-39 apply? The two A players do not move to a new set position before the ensuing snap.
|
Illegal shift means 2 or more players were moving and all of them did not come set prior to the snap.
Illegal motion for a back means he is moving forward at the time of the snap. |
Quote:
|
All 11 players stop for one second, which is a shift. Then two players go in motion, legally, since all players had stopped for one second. Both are moving at the snap. That is illegal motion. Had one of the two in motion stopped moving and the other kept going to the snap, then you would have had an illegal shift because if the one stopped moving then the other would have had to stop too for one second.
Illegal Motion: 7-2-7...Only one A player may be in motion at the snap and then only if such motion is not toward his opponent’s goal line...... Illegal shift: 7-2-6...After a huddle or shift all 11 players of A shall come to an absolute stop and shall remain stationary simultaneously without movement of hands, feet, head or body for at least one second before the snap |
Canadian Ruling
Quote:
Legal. We don't restrict behind-the-LS motion. |
Quote:
Illegal shift: 7-2-6...After a huddle or shift all 11 players of A shall come to an absolute stop and shall remain stationary simultaneously without movement of hands, feet, head or body for at least one second before the snap |
Quote:
With one player in motion, you have the possibility of legal motion. If he does something wrong (moves toward the LOS, for instance), then the motion becomes illegal motion. The fouls here are based on the idea that whatever the team is doing starts out legal, and if they screw it up it's illegal. So having two players moving at the snap would have to be an illegal shift. |
Quote:
PLAY: Set backs A10 and A32 mistakenly both go in motion on the QB’s signal. Their motion is parallel to the line of scrimmage. The ball is snapped (a) while both are still moving, or (b) after A10 stops, realizing that something’s wrong, while A32 continues with his motion. RULING: In (a) Team A is guilty of illegal motion. They have two players moving at the snap. [Note: this is a foul that a lot of referees mistakenly call an illegal shift.] In (b) A is guilty of an illegal shift. Once A10 stops, he’s completed a shift, which requires all eleven offensive players—including A32—to be set for at least one second. http://home.comcast.net/~minnmo/foot...-newFormat.doc |
Quote:
|
Take is easy Walt. I posted Bob's article and you can read it for yourself.
|
Quote:
kdf5, your explanation needs work. What I found persuasive in Bob's piece was the idea that motion does not become a shift until at least one of the players sets. So if neither of two players moving sets before the snap, it's not a shift. If one (or both) of them sets, it's now a shift. I was also intrigued by the rarely called illegal shifts involving the QB coming up under center while the motion man is moving. Good stuff! |
How one says something is often more important than what someone says. You would be amazed at what you can tell/get from people by your delivery method!
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
I meant only that the point is somewhat technical, and I didn't see the precision of Bob's account in your post. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
NF 7-2-7: "ART. 7 . . . Only one A player may be in motion at the snap and then only if such motion is not toward his opponent’s goal line." ...and... "PENALTY: Illegal formation (Arts. 1, 2, 3) – (S19); illegal snap (Art. 4) – (S7- 19); illegal numbering (Art. 5) – (S19); illegal shift (Art. 6) – (S20); illegal motion (Art. 7) – (S20); planned loose-ball infraction (Art. 8) – (S19) – 5 yards." |
Quote:
Merely having 2 men in motion is not by itself a shift, and thus it cannot be an illegal shift. But it IS motion, and thus illegal motion if they're both still moving at the snap. Bob also mentions in the piece that the point is a technicality, since it's likely to be flagged and enforced identically, no matter what it's called. |
Quote:
How do you pronounce potato? Don't make me type 7-2-6 and all the summary penalties and highlight the words … let’s call the whole thing off! Great artical BTW! |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:03am. |