The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Clock status after illegal forward pass. (https://forum.officiating.com/football/48528-clock-status-after-illegal-forward-pass.html)

verticalStripes Wed Sep 10, 2008 12:40am

Clock status after illegal forward pass.
 
Fed Rules:

3rd and 5 on B's 10 yard line. The score is A=6, B=7 in the 4th quarter. The game clock is running with four seconds remaining at the snap. QB A11 receives the snap in shotgun formation. A11 spikes the ball forward into the ground to save time. There are 2 seconds remaining when the ball hits the ground. After enforcing the intentional grounding penalty at B's 15 yardline, when does the clock start?

NM_Ref Wed Sep 10, 2008 02:12am

maybe someone can correct me if i'm wrong. i read somewhere that to determine the status of the clock, you go by the previous play. if it was running, you run it before snap, otherwise wait until after snap?

JRutledge Wed Sep 10, 2008 02:38am

I believe it would depend on what the Referee wants to do. The Referee could start the clock on the ready according to 3-4-6. This is a classic situation where the Referee could do just that.

Peace

JugglingReferee Wed Sep 10, 2008 07:11am

Canadian Ruling
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by verticalStripes
2nd (OP=3rd) and 5 on B's 10 yard line. The score is A=6, B=7 in the 4th quarter. The game clock is running with four seconds remaining at the snap. QB A11 receives the snap in shotgun formation. A11 spikes the ball forward into the ground to save time. There are 2 seconds remaining when the ball hits the ground. After enforcing the intentional grounding penalty at B's 15 yardline, when does the clock start?

The OP calls for it to be the next-to-last down, which in Canadian ball, is second down. I will adjust the situation in that regard.

CANADIAN RULING:

The passer spiking the ball doesn't meet either of the deliberate grounding criterion, so the play results in an incomplete pass. Result: 3D/5 @ B-10. Since we're inside the 3-minute warning, clock on the snap.

FTVMartin Wed Sep 10, 2008 08:29am

NF 3-4-3

The clock shall start with the snap ...if the clock was stopped because

e. a legal or illiegal forward pass is incomplete.

cmathews Wed Sep 10, 2008 09:10am

rut is right again
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by FTVMartin
NF 3-4-3

The clock shall start with the snap ...if the clock was stopped because

e. a legal or illiegal forward pass is incomplete.

FTV check out 3-4-6 When a team attempts to conserve or consume time illegally, the referee shall order the clock started or stopped...in my game the clock starts on the ready

JugglingReferee Wed Sep 10, 2008 09:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by FTVMartin
NF 3-4-3

The clock shall start with the snap ...if the clock was stopped because

e. a legal or illiegal forward pass is incomplete.

Quote:

Originally Posted by cmathews
FTV check out 3-4-6 When a team attempts to conserve or consume time illegally, the referee shall order the clock started or stopped...in my game the clock starts on the ready

Just trying to understand... the rule says to start on the snap, but you do what you want, and start on the ready if you feel that a team conserved time illegally?

cdoug Wed Sep 10, 2008 09:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee
Just trying to understand... the rule says to start on the snap, but you do what you want, and start on the ready if you feel that a team conserved time illegally?

Yes, since the QB is in shotgun formation he cannot legally ground the ball to conserve time (7.5.2 Exception: It is legal to conserve time by intentionally throwing the ball forward to the ground immediately after receiving a direct hand-to-hand snap). As noted being able to start the clock on the ready is allowed per 3.4.6

bossman72 Wed Sep 10, 2008 12:18pm

This was a trick by my high school coach (but the opposite). If we were ahead, we would let the play clock run down (while the game clock was running) and false start. Refs that were not wise as to what was going on would run the clock on the ready and we would eat up the clock and win the game.

However, some refs would start it on the snap, thus negating our plan.

JugglingReferee Wed Sep 10, 2008 12:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bossman72
This was a trick by my high school coach (but the opposite). If we were ahead, we would let the play clock run down (while the game clock was running) and false start. Refs that were not wise as to what was going on would run the clock on the ready and we would eat up the clock and win the game.

However, some refs would start it on the snap, thus negating our plan.

This is why I like the Canadian ruling better: the defense has the choice of whether to run the clock or not, not the Referee.

Bob M. Wed Sep 10, 2008 02:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NM_Ref
maybe someone can correct me if i'm wrong. i read somewhere that to determine the status of the clock, you go by the previous play. if it was running, you run it before snap, otherwise wait until after snap?

REPLY: Absolutely not. You never go back to the prior play (one before the play with the foul) to determine clock status. You use the last play (the one where the foul occurred) to determine when the clock next starts. Though the clock would typically start on the snap (incomplete pass), you should follow the advice of cdoug in his post and start it on the ready.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:10am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1