The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   x over (https://forum.officiating.com/football/48313-x-over.html)

Murd Sun Sep 07, 2008 03:18pm

x over
 
tight end covered by the X makes him ineligible, can the TE take a handoff ?

JRutledge Sun Sep 07, 2008 03:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Murd
tight end covered by the X makes him ineligible, can the TE take a handoff ?

Anyone can take a handoff or backward pass. Being eligible is about receiving a forward pass, not taking a handoff.

Peace

waltjp Sun Sep 07, 2008 07:48pm

I see no mention of X in my rule book.

Robert Goodman Sun Sep 07, 2008 08:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge
Anyone can take a handoff or backward pass. Being eligible is about receiving a forward pass, not taking a handoff.

Unless it's in that specialized set of circumstances designed to keep the ball from being handed forward to a lineman during close line play. The different codes have different restrictions about that.

Robert

Murd Sun Sep 07, 2008 08:11pm

so a covered TE can get the ball on a end around?

Robert Goodman Sun Sep 07, 2008 08:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Murd
so a covered TE can get the ball on a end around?

Covered, uncovered, doesn't matter. If a lineman has clearly come off the line and/or goes behind the player handing the ball, it's legal.

JRutledge Sun Sep 07, 2008 08:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Murd
so a covered TE can get the ball on a end around?

Anyone can take a handoff. Depending on location of a player there are some requirements to do so, but anyone can take a handoff in the backfield.

The problem is you are using very generic terms and not rulebook language. There are some here (including myself) are not sure what you really want to know. You seem new to this board and most here are officials. We do not use the term "X receiver."

Peace

BktBallRef Sun Sep 07, 2008 08:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Murd
tight end covered by the X makes him ineligible, can the TE take a handoff ?

Yes, he can. But he must meet the requirements that any other interior lineman would have to meet.

Robert Goodman Sun Sep 07, 2008 08:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge
The problem is you are using very generic terms and not rulebook language. There are some here (including myself) are not sure what you really want to know. You seem new to this board and most here are officials. We do not use the term "X receiver."

Yeah, but it doesn't matter in this case whether the person knows the official terms or not. We understood "covered" to mean "took a position on the line closer to the sideline than", and "X" to mean "some teammate", which is all that mattered. (Actually, not even those details mattered!) It may be a problem in some cases, but don't make it a problem when it's not. And when it is a problem, some additional dialog can usually clear it up.

The coaches have it worse than the officials in that there's no universal meaning to much of their jargon. "X" has a different meaning to most coaches now from what it did 40 years ago, and it was never universal anyway. The letters in the back of the alphabet used to mean "primary receiver", "secondary receiver", etc. in order of passer's reads; lately it's become common to label the ends "X" & "Y", but when one coach talks to another various "gotchas" come up that vitiate that understanding.

Robert

JRutledge Sun Sep 07, 2008 08:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robert Goodman
Yeah, but it doesn't matter in this case whether the person knows the official terms or not. We understood "covered" to mean "took a position on the line closer to the sideline than", and "X" to mean "some teammate", which is all that mattered. (Actually, not even those details mattered!) It may be a problem in some cases, but don't make it a problem when it's not. And when it is a problem, some additional dialog can usually clear it up.

The coaches have it worse than the officials in that there's no universal meaning to much of their jargon. "X" has a different meaning to most coaches now from what it did 40 years ago, and it was never universal anyway. The letters in the back of the alphabet used to mean "primary receiver", "secondary receiver", etc. in order of passer's reads; lately it's become common to label the ends "X" & "Y", but when one coach talks to another various "gotchas" come up that vitiate that understanding.

Robert

You just made my point. You just suggested that coaches do not have a universal language. Based on that knowledge I have, you would be surprised what coaches say that are not accurate to what they feel the rulebook. And that is the reason I did not go into more detail as to what the requirements are to get a handoff, because it is likely he would not understand if he was not an official. The best example of this was yesterday during a game I had a coach ask me and my umpire on the game about a "high-low" block. He was convinced it was illegal until it was fully explained to him. He thought that any high-low block was illegal. It has to be explained to him that the low block had to be delayed to have an illegal block or chop block as the rulebook states it is.

Peace

Murd Sun Sep 07, 2008 09:46pm

Most coaches call the split end the x reciever, TE is the Y and the flanker is the Z. When a team goes x over they bring the SE wide to the TE side to take the corner out of run support. The TE would be covered. I appreciate the help from the officials on the forum. getting a federation rule book is harder then hitting the lotto.

JRutledge Sun Sep 07, 2008 10:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Murd
Most coaches call the split end the x reciever, TE is the Y and the flanker is the Z. When a team goes x over they bring the SE wide to the TE side to take the corner out of run support. The TE would be covered. I appreciate the help from the officials on the forum. getting a federation rule book is harder then hitting the lotto.

Well those terms are not in the rulebook. When you assume we understand coach speak, then you might not get the answer you are looking for. But the TE being covered has no bearing on this situation. This is not a forward pass we are talking about here.

Peace

Gmoore Sun Sep 07, 2008 10:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef
Yes, he can. But he must meet the requirements that any other interior lineman would have to meet.

BBR- are you saying he must turn and face his goal line?

waltjp Mon Sep 08, 2008 07:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Murd
Most coaches call the split end the x reciever, TE is the Y and the flanker is the Z. When a team goes x over they bring the SE wide to the TE side to take the corner out of run support. The TE would be covered. I appreciate the help from the officials on the forum. getting a federation rule book is harder then hitting the lotto.

Actually, it might cost you a lot less than the lottery tickets.

http://www.nfhs.com/index.asp?cmd=sh...ory&param_0=64

ajmc Mon Sep 08, 2008 09:14am

Every business has it's own unique language that may, or may not, be universally used, or understood, even within that business. Coaching and Officiating are in the same INDUSTRY, not the same BUSINESS and we each have our own different languages.

When talking to each other the ONLY common language that can assure we are speaking the same dialect, and mean the same thing is the language of the rule book.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:00am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1