The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 02, 2008, 10:09pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Lightbulb Canadian Ruling

Quote:
Originally Posted by surehands
1st and ten for team A at the 20 yard line and Team A drops to pass and throws. Offensive lineman A68 is flagged for holding 8 yards behind the line of scrimmage at the 12 yard line while the ball is in the air. If accepted what is the correct inforcement?
CANADIAN RULING:

Enforcement spot for a minor foul prior to yards gained is the previous spot. Result: Team A 1D/20 @ A-10.

My question is: if the ball ia already in the air, why is A flagged for a hold?:
  1. If the B player being held has a chance to catch the ball, pass interference should be called.
  2. If the B player being held doesn't have a chance to catch the ball, why is there a flag at all, as the flag has no effect on the play. This is an unnecessary flag, and is a game interruptor.
If (2) is the situation, I would never never never ever throw this flag. I would pick up this flag if thrown by a different official; it's simply not called.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 02, 2008, 11:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: N.D.
Posts: 1,829
He may have been flagged after the ball was in the air but when did he start to hold the guy? Pure judgment.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The right call or the correct call? Nevadaref Basketball 9 Mon Dec 11, 2006 10:21am
ASA OBS call then no call leads to ejection DaveASA/FED Softball 28 Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:52pm
To call or not to call foul ball DaveASA/FED Softball 11 Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am
More Pacers/Pistons call/no call OverAndBack Basketball 36 Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm
Does one call relate to the last call? Tee Basketball 28 Thu Feb 13, 2003 05:53pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:53pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1