![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Remember the definition for a lineman and the definition for a back. He meets neither. I think he is in no-man's land where only the player under the snapper can be legal. Frankly, this is something you might expect to see in youth football not high school. Of course, I love youth coaches whose knowledge of the rules comes from the talking heads on network TV! |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs. |
|
|||
WR
| |-------> TE T G C G T *************************LOS The original post did not indicate he paused and set after moving forward. If he had, this would clearly be illegal motion as he would then be an established lineman and would not be the required 5 yards behind the LOS at the snap. However, here how I am reading the original post. The WR, who has established himself in the backfield, steps forward (so as not to draw any kind of false start flag) and goes in motion on his side of the NZ towards the TE. This should not be terribly unusual as full backs do this frequently where they may take 2 or 3 steps forwards before they go in motion laterally. Yes a motion can be stopped at any time and the player can re-set - Legal Shift. Yes the motion can continue through the snap and, as long as he is not moving upfield - Legal Motion The question in my mind is whether it is legal to be in motion on the line of scrimmage if you are established in the backfield. I can't find any rule prohibiting it or indicating a specified setback (say 1 yard off type of thing) and thus am inclined to rule it legal. |
|
|||
I thought LOL
Reading the OP, it was my opinion (I know that and 65 cents gets me a cup of coffee at Mcdonalds), that the "back" did not step up to the LOS. I felt by reading it that by moving in motion towards the TE he was just moving towards the center of the field, not moving forward as Ed has indicated. However I do see how the language in the OP could cause some confusion. Assuming that my interp of what the OP said is correct then we have nothing........however if what Ed says is the OP original intent then we have illegal motion as Ed has said...IE moving towards the LOS.
However this interp of the OP WR | |-------> TE T G C G T *************************LOS adds a different dimension. It isn't illegal motion. He clearly started as a back, so he is exempt from the 5 yd requirement. I don't see anything in the rules that says that you can't be in motion on the LOS....however it is most likely that he doesn't meet the requirements of a lineman (shoulders parralel to the LOS) and he doesn't meet the requirements of a back (he is breaking the waistline of the nearest player on the LOS) so he is in no mans land and thus an illegal formation......... edit for explanation....I see Ed already pointed this out above...sorry bout that Ed ![]() any comments?? ![]()
__________________
The officials lament, or the coaches excuses as it were: "I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was going to blame you" |
|
|||
OK, I think I got it now. It would not be illegal motion, but it would be illegal formation. 7-2-2 - The players of A who are not on their line at the snap (our back in motion does not meet the defenition of being on the line) only one may penetrate the vertical plane through the waistline of his nearest teammate who is on the line. He must have his hands in postion to receive the ball if it snapped between the snappers legs.
|
|
|||
Quote:
If the offensive line is somewhat staggered in terms of their positions forward & back, it is conceivable that a player in motion laterally who had set in the backfield and motioned as above could go from a position not in the backfield to one in the backfield, depending on which lineman he was closest to at the time. This could really be a problem for a back in motion between a widely split end and a tackle. Split ends often line up in a very erect stance close to A's restraining line, while the tackle might cheat back to barely break the plane of the snapper's waist. Someone who lined up as flanker just behind the end and then motioned toward the rest of the formation could present a little challenge if you wanted to be technical. However, I think the spirit of the rules is satisfied in that team B would understand the motioning player to be an eligible receiver. Still, if team A was using the A-11 offense, maybe you would want to be technical about it! Robert |
|
|||
Sorry Robert, I respectfully disagree with your assessment. NF: 7.2.7 clearly suggests that it's a player's starting position that determines whether, or not, he has to meet the requirement for being 5 yards behind the line at the snap.
This concept is reinforced by the narrative in the "Points of Emphasis" regarding "Motion" where it speaks of a player who "started from a position not clearly behind the line of scrimmage and did not establish himself as a back by stopping for at least one full second". To change from a back to a lineman a player must reset to establish that new position. The original example speaks of a player who clearly established himself as a back, and then went in motion as a back. By not re-setting (stopping for a second) he does not change his status to that of a lineman and is perfectly legal moving along his side of the scrimmage line. As long as he does not move forward, at the snap. he is legally in motion without satisfying the 5 yard requirement for a lineman to be legally in motion, because he did not establish himself as a lineman by resetting. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Man in motion | Time2Ref | Football | 18 | Mon Aug 13, 2007 01:31pm |
illegal motion?? | phansen | Football | 1 | Sat Sep 02, 2006 02:51pm |
Bow motion | grantsrc | Football | 7 | Fri Oct 14, 2005 07:38am |
Anyone second the motion?? | cowbyfan1 | Football | 1 | Mon Jul 14, 2003 08:25am |
QUARTERBACK IN MOTION | CHAMPSFST | Football | 20 | Tue Sep 18, 2001 11:11pm |