The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Foul where distance gained prior to foul (https://forum.officiating.com/football/46389-foul-where-distance-gained-prior-foul.html)

wwcfoa43 Wed Jul 16, 2008 08:31am

Foul where distance gained prior to foul

Excuse the perhaps simple question but I am new to the U.S. rules. Under NFL rules does the penalty for a foul get included before or after the determination for first down. (In Canada it is after if the distance is gained before the foul.)

Situation (NFL rules):

Team A 3rd and 10 at the A 20 yard line. Players A42 rushes the ball. Player A10 holds at the A 35 yard line and the ball goes dead at the A 40.

Is the result 3rd and 5 at the A 25 or is it 1st and 10 at the A 25?

Thanks.

ljdave Wed Jul 16, 2008 09:03am

3rd and 5.

Jim D Wed Jul 16, 2008 09:04am

It's after the foul is considered. In your example, the runner may not have gotten the first down without the hold. Go back to the previous spot (NFL rules) and penalize from there and repeat 3rd down. It will be 3rd & 20 from the A's 10.

wwcfoa43 Wed Jul 16, 2008 09:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jim D
It's after the foul is considered. In your example, the runner may not have gotten the first down without the hold. Go back to the previous spot (NFL rules) and penalize from there and repeat 3rd down. It will be 3rd & 20 from the A's 10.

It is my understanding that enforcement for offensive fouls not behind the LOS was from the spot of the foul, not the previous spot. Can someone clarify?

Jim D Wed Jul 16, 2008 09:16am

You're right. I was thinking of a foul behind the line.

ajmc Wed Jul 16, 2008 09:18am