The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Cal vs. Arizona St. - INADVERTENT SIGNAL?? (https://forum.officiating.com/football/39189-cal-vs-arizona-st-inadvertent-signal.html)

GPC2 Sat Oct 27, 2007 11:30pm

Cal vs. Arizona St. - INADVERTENT SIGNAL??
 
On a punt late in the 2nd Quarter, a Cal player fielded a punt and was immediately tackled. On the tackle he fumbled the ball. At the moment of the tackle the BJ gave the signal to kill the clock (w/o an audible whistle). There was a scramble for the ball and the BJ continued to officiate (following the scramble), but gave the signal at least one other time (again w/o an audible whistle). The R anounced that the ruling on the field was that the punt was caught and fumbled and recovered by the kicking team. The play was then reviewed and after the review the R said that there was an "Inadvertent Signal" on the play, and by rule the receiving team retained possession at the spot where the receiver caught the punt.

My question - is there such a thing as an Inadvertent Signal under NCAA rules - and if there is, is it treated much like an Inadvertent Whistle?

NorthernAZRef Sat Oct 27, 2007 11:46pm

I noticed the same thing... seemed like the BJ tried to cover himself when he reported it to the R, then he had to eat it. I've never heard of inadvertent signal though. I can't imagine how he felt going into the lockerroom at half.

TXMike Sun Oct 28, 2007 06:37am

If a signal is given for something that would mean ball is dead (i.e. TD signal, incomplete pass, stop the clock, etc) it is treated exsactly like an IW

JugglingReferee Sun Oct 28, 2007 01:59pm

Canadian Ruling
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by GPC2
On a punt late in the 2nd Quarter, a Cal player fielded a punt and was immediately tackled. On the tackle he fumbled the ball. At the moment of the tackle the BJ gave the signal to kill the clock (w/o an audible whistle). There was a scramble for the ball and the BJ continued to officiate (following the scramble), but gave the signal at least one other time (again w/o an audible whistle). The R anounced that the ruling on the field was that the punt was caught and fumbled and recovered by the kicking team. The play was then reviewed and after the review the R said that there was an "Inadvertent Signal" on the play, and by rule the receiving team retained possession at the spot where the receiver caught the punt.

My question - is there such a thing as an Inadvertent Signal under NCAA rules - and if there is, is it treated much like an Inadvertent Whistle?

CANADIAN RULING:

There is nothing in the rulebook surrounding an inadvertant signal.

My ruling: Having said that, if I knew such a thing happened, the fair thing, in my mind, is that this act kills the play. An R player could claim that he didn't try for the ball because he saw the official kill the play with a visible signal. The play is dead with R catching the ball: R 1D/10.

With_Two_Flakes Sun Oct 28, 2007 09:06pm

Rule 4-1-2a
A live ball becomes a dead ball as provided in the rules or when an official sounds his whistle (even though inadvertently), or otherwise signals the ball dead.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:36pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1