The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Intentional Grounding Blunder (https://forum.officiating.com/football/39025-intentional-grounding-blunder.html)

parepat Mon Oct 22, 2007 12:23am

Intentional Grounding Blunder
 
Made this mistake Friday. A is pressured and throws the ball away. After the action on the QB is resolved I look to my linesman for help. He shakes his head no. I take that to mean "no this is not IG" I start to head back and the BJ runs up to tell me that their was no eligible in the area. The Linesman agrees and I ............finally...........throw the flag...........about 25 seconds after the conclusion of the play. My popularity among A's coaches diminished dramatically.

Any thoughts as to how to avoid this problem. Do any of you guys have a signal to the R that would would indicate the lack of an eligible in the area.

CruiseMan Mon Oct 22, 2007 12:54am

We've always used Thumb Up, Thumb Down.

Thumb Up: I (flanker) have a receiver in the area...your call Mr. Referee.

Thumb Down: No receiver near me Mr. Referee. Looks like IG to me :)

JugglingReferee Mon Oct 22, 2007 06:26am

Canadian Mechanic
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by parepat
Made this mistake Friday. A is pressured and throws the ball away. After the action on the QB is resolved I look to my linesman for help. He shakes his head no. I take that to mean "no this is not IG" I start to head back and the BJ runs up to tell me that their was no eligible in the area. The Linesman agrees and I ............finally...........throw the flag...........about 25 seconds after the conclusion of the play. My popularity among A's coaches diminished dramatically.

Any thoughts as to how to avoid this problem. Do any of you guys have a signal to the R that would would indicate the lack of an eligible in the area.

CANADIAN MECHANIC:

We don't restrict the official permitted to throw an IG flag to the Referee.

Before you ask: yup, it works. ;)

Sonofanump Mon Oct 22, 2007 11:01am

Better late than never. Common with IG.

Your linesman should have come to you to tell you what he had instead of shaking his head. Your Backjudge gets an upgrade for making sure the correct call was made.

PSU213 Mon Oct 22, 2007 03:46pm

Our mechanic for wings--

If their is a receiver in the area, point to him. If there is no receiver in the area, rush to the referee (assuming there is no extracurricular activities that need to be watched).

Despite this we did get into a little trouble once. QB throws it away. HL says and shakes head "no" mening it was not IG. R took it to mean no receiver in the area. We then had to 'eat' the flag.

Mark Dexter Mon Oct 22, 2007 08:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by parepat
Any thoughts as to how to avoid this problem.

Pregame, pregame, pregame.

bigjohn Mon Oct 22, 2007 08:54pm

Did he throw the ball incomplete on purpose? Doesn't matter if there was a receiver in the area. Call it! Read Casebook 7-5-2 Sit C Even if there is a receiver in the area if the QB threw thew ball intentionally incomplete(uncatchable) to prevent a sack.

Sonofanump Mon Oct 22, 2007 10:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn
Did he throw the ball incomplete on purpose?

How do we know intent?

Welpe Mon Oct 22, 2007 10:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sonofanump
How do we know intent?

I am suddenly having dejavu from the NFHS forum!

MJT Mon Oct 22, 2007 11:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe
I am suddenly having dejavu from the NFHS forum!

Me too. :eek:

Seriously, just have to have your wings come to you if they have no one in the area and you drop a late flag. You should be at the location the pass so you know where to drop the flag.

bigjohn Tue Oct 23, 2007 08:39am

It is called INTENTIONAL grounding, the rule says you are to judge intent!

Samdog Tue Oct 23, 2007 09:00am

verbal comunications can not or never will be replaced by singals in most circumstances.

parepat Tue Oct 23, 2007 02:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MJT
Me too. :eek:

Seriously, just have to have your wings come to you if they have no one in the area and you drop a late flag. You should be at the location the pass so you know where to drop the flag.


That was another problem. After my wing shook his head I walked away. Realizing my mistake I made a best guess of the pass location. All in all it was a pretty avoidable mistake that we all learned from. Thanks for all the comments.

MJT Tue Oct 23, 2007 02:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn
It is called INTENTIONAL grounding, the rule says you are to judge intent!

BJ, I want you to take a one year sobatical from coaching, become an R for varsity FB and see how many times you call it!! :eek: You would either slightly change your thinking, or call it more times in that year than the rest of us do in 5 years. ;)

I'm not saying there is no judgment on intent, but you seem to think it should be called at least once a game!! :)

Sonofanump Tue Oct 23, 2007 09:09pm

What I am saying is if a receiver is in the area, then I am not going to say he intentionally threw the ball away.

bigjohn Tue Oct 23, 2007 09:12pm

Even if the ball is thrown 10 feet over his head?

Sonofanump Wed Oct 24, 2007 09:54am

I've seen worst attempts to complete a pass than 10 feet high.

Do you live on SR 23 & 220?

Rich Wed Oct 24, 2007 10:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn
Even if the ball is thrown 10 feet over his head?

Not every pass is where a QB wants it to go, especially if he is being pressured.

Sometimes an incomplete pass is just an incomplete pass.

HLin NC Wed Oct 24, 2007 05:11pm

Here's one from last Friday. A5 drops back and is pressured, A39 is just slightly running away from the right hash towards the sideline. A5 flings it OB towards the right sideline, not even remotely catchable for A39 but towards his general direction.

WH drops his flag and then summons me back up and asks if there was an A player in the direction. I told him what I saw, which was "A39 was coming but wasn't ever going to get there. If you want it IG, I'm fine with it."

WH says "well if an A player was in that direction, I'm going to pick it up."

As he bends down to get his flag, A5 tells me "But I was out of the tackle box!" I went "A-HA! Intent!" Then I yelled over to the WH, "Hey (name redacted), QB says he was out of the tackle box. Leave it, leave it." But he picked it up and waved off anyway.

I now await bigjohn's stroke:eek:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:18am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1