![]() |
What is with the Fair Catch "Signal" ?
Connecticut scores on a punt return where the reciever put his hand up at the last second.
Was it a fair catch signal? If not, why not? |
Just saw the same thing in Army at GT. Receiver put his hand up briefly to block the sun, but did not wave it. The BJ killed the play after the catch.
Is that a FC signal? |
Never saw the Connecticut one, but the one BktBallRef is talking about should not be called. The B should be talking to the returner about how to signal and how to block the sun and there should be no problem then.
We tell them, to block the sun "have your elbow out and up and don't wave" and to signal FC "have elbow up and locked and wave back and forth." Do that and you will never have a doubt on which is called. The key is NO WAVE for sun and WAVE for the FC. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
REPLY: I saw the Connecticut game and can't figure out how the play was not blown dead--either for a fair catch or for the invalid signal. Certainly had nothing to do with the sun since it was pouring rain..and at night!
|
I used to worry about this and being able to differentiate the difference between what is an invalid FC signal and what is just a normal motion by the PR with regards to blocking the sun or telling his teammates to get away. Now and for the past couple of years, if I have any question whatsoever, I'm killing it. End of story.
The PR knows the rule (or should) and I'm going to enforce it as such. To add to this, I also make talking to the PRs during the pre-game warmups. I ask them to show me a valid FC signal and then remind them that if they're blocking the sun, their hand needs to be touching their helmet above the face mask with an elbow locked, and if they're telling their guys to get away from the ball, then it needs to be at or below their waist. Haven't had any problems or questions since... |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:54pm. |