![]() |
Team Refuses to Play
I am just a sports fan that reads this forum to have a better knowledge of the game.
A sit. from a HS game played under NF rules. Team A fumbles and B recovers and returns for TD. A flag, on B, for apparant block in the back is waved off after officials confer. A coach is irrate at the waved off flag and refused to send out a team to defend the PAT. Officials allowed B to convert a 2 pt PAT with no defense. Is this correct, should there be any penalty? Thanks, for your response, I will keep reading and learning. |
A team who refuses to play after being instructed to do so would result in a forfeit (and likely a report to the State Association Office).
|
I'm not sure exactly how I'd handle this. I think I might do just what this crew did. "Coach, bring 'em out!!!" And when he refuses, just blow the ready.
If they continued to refuse to play after that - perhaps 1 DOG and then a forfeit. I would not have the itchy trigger finger on that forfeit. |
REPLY: mbcrowder...not sure I would do it that way. Allowing the offense to play a down prior to the defense being ready--anytime during the contest--IMHO makes a travesty of the game. I think I would follow mikesears' recommendation. Warn the defense's head coach of the consequences if he refuses to put his team on the field. Then if he still refuses, it's him pulling the trigger--not you. I really don't know what choice he gives you.
|
I understand that ... and that's normally for safety reasons.
But you'd let them run that play with 10 men out there if that's what they wanted. What about 9. 8? Zero? |
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
It's not one of the situations Fed instituted a few years ago for resuming play, in which both teams need to be ready or it's an infraction. And it's not a case of team A's refusing to play the ball within 2 mins. (or whatever it is in Fed). So I think the procedure that was followed in the case given -- an unopposed snap by A on the try -- is correct. The next thing you need from the protesting team, assuming neither half ended, is a choice of which team is to kick off. I don't know what the remedy is for refusal to specify a choice offered by the ref. Is it forfeiture of the choice, delay of game, or USC? Or some combination? No matter what, a kickoff is to follow, and then you're in one of those "resumption of play" situations where both teams have to be ready. If they still refuse, then the common sense solution is a forfeit. Robert |
We would never allow a play to go off with only one team on the field. Proper steps would be -
1) warning 2) DOG 3) final warning 4) forfeit |
Quote:
|
I'd go with a couple of DOG fouls, which would continually "halve the distance to the goal line." Then, we'd have a pretty sound basis within the rules for a forfeit.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
what does "dog foul" refer to? |
Quote:
Sorry, I couldn't resist. DOG - Delay of Game |
delay of game...sorry, i bit.
|
Your state associations SHOULD have some kind of procedure laid out for you in sits like this. Nebraska and Iowa both tell their officials, if the coach refuses to put his team out on the field, the R is supposed to talk to the coach, remind him that refusal to play is a forfeiture, and then step away and wait a minute or so. If at that point, the coach still hasn't budged, the R is supposed to just run over and grab the ball and do end of game (overhead signal with ball) and hightail it off the field with the crew.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:08am. |